Biography - Greg Rickford

Greg Rickford

The Honourable Greg Rickford

Canada’s Minister of Natural Resources and Minister for the Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario
Kenora, Ontario

One of eight children, Greg Rickford comes from a family whose values are founded on hard work and public service. Greg and his wife Janet have two daughters, Abigail Mae and Poppy Kate. Greg’s diverse professional background led him to Kenora, where he and his family call home.

Greg has worked as a nurse and lawyer in remote First Nations communities of northern Ontario. He holds degrees in common and civil law from McGill University and pursued additional legal studies at the University of Arizona on an international exchange scholarship. He also received an MBA from Université Laval, a Bachelor of Science in nursing from the University of Victoria and a Diploma in nursing from Mohawk College. He has focused his professional careers on working with First Nations communities.

Greg was elected to represent the Ontario riding of Kenora in the 2008 federal election and re-elected in the 2011 election. Prime Minister Stephen Harper appointed Greg Parliamentary Secretary for Official Languages on August 30, 2010. On January 30, 2011, Greg was appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. On July 15, 2013, he was appointed Minister of State (Science and Technology) and Minister for the Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario. On March 19, 2014, Greg was appointed Minister of Natural Resources.

Greg is a diehard Leafs fan who also loves college football and professional baseball. An avid sport shooter, fisherman and yoga enthusiast, Greg's favourite place in the world is his home on Lake of the Woods.

Historique - Greg Rickford

Greg Rickford

L'honorable Greg Rickford

Ministre des Ressources naturelles du Canada et ministre de l’Initiative fédérale de développement économique dans le Nord de l’Ontario
Kenora (Ontario)

Greg Rickford a grandi au sein d’une famille de huit enfants dont les valeurs sont enracinées dans le travail et le service à la collectivité. Lui et sa femme, Janet, ont deux filles, Abigail Mae et Poppy Kate. Le cheminement professionnel diversifié de Greg a amené sa famille à s’établir à Kenora.

Greg a travaillé comme infirmier et avocat dans des villages autochtones éloignés du Nord de l’Ontario. Titulaire de diplômes en droit civil et en common law de l’Université McGill, il a poursuivi d’autres études en droit à l’Université de l’Arizona grâce à une bourse d’échange internationale. Il est également titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Laval, d’un baccalauréat en sciences infirmières de l’Université de Victoria et d’un diplôme en sciences infirmières du Collège Mohawk. Dans ses diverses activités professionnelles, il a mis l’accent sur le travail auprès des Premières Nations.

Greg a été élu dans la circonscription ontarienne de Kenora lors des élections fédérales de 2008 et a été réélu lors des élections de 2011. Le premier ministre Stephen Harper le nomme secrétaire parlementaire pour les Langues officielles le 30 août 2010. Le 30 janvier 2011, Greg est nommé secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord canadien. Le 15 juillet 2013, il est nommé ministre d’État (Sciences et Technologie) et ministre responsable de l’Initiative fédérale de développement économique dans le Nord de l’Ontario. Le 19 mars 2014, il devient ministre des Ressources naturelles.

Fervent partisan des Maple Leafs de Toronto, Greg aime aussi le football universitaire et le baseball professionnel. Grand amateur de tir sportif, de pêche et de yoga, il n’y a pas d’endroit au monde qui lui plaise davantage que sa maison au bord du lac des Bois.

Date de modification :