Government of Canada investment to support Aboriginal economic development in Northwestern Ontario

THUNDER BAY, Ontario, March 28, 2012 — The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister for FedNor, today announced a Government of Canada investment of $236,250 to support First Nation-based economic development initiatives in Northwestern Ontario.

“By supporting the Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund, the Government of Canada is helping First Nation communities to grow and diversify their economies and create employment opportunities,” said Minister Clement. “Today’s investment will provide remote Aboriginal communities in Northwestern Ontario with an additional tool to help address their economic development needs.”  

The FedNor funding will enable the Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund to fund a variety of community-based economic development projects in its service area. Based in Thunder Bay, the Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund is one of 24 Community Futures Development Corporations (CFDCs) funded by FedNor to serve Northern Ontario businesses and communities. CFDCs are not-for-profit organizations, each run by a board of local volunteers and staffed by experienced business and economic development professionals.

“This much needed funding will assist in empowering our communities by facilitating economic development projects that will build capacity and create jobs,” said Madeline Commanda, Chair, Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund. “We welcome this commitment as a sign of FedNor’s continued support of Aboriginal business and economic development in our northern communities.”

Funding for this project was provided through FedNor’s Northern Ontario Development Program, which supports initiatives that strengthen community economic development, enhance business growth, and facilitate innovation throughout the region.

To learn more about FedNor and its programs, visit: fednor.gc.ca

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Sean Osmar
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Tony Clement
613-957-2666

Kim Fewchuk
Communications Officer
FedNor
705-941-2105 or 1-877-333-6673 Ext 306

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans le développement économique des autochtones du Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario

THUNDER BAY (Ontario), le 28 mars 2012 — L’honorable Tony Clement, ministre de FedNor, a annoncé aujourd’hui un investissement de 236 250 $ du gouvernement du Canada destiné à soutenir des initiatives de développement économique autochtones dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario.

« En soutenant le Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund, le gouvernement du Canada aide les collectivités des Premières nations à développer et à diversifier leurs économies, ainsi qu’à créer des possibilités d’emploi, déclare le ministre Clement L’investissement annoncé aujourd’hui procurera, à des collectivités autochtones éloignées du Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario, un outil additionnel pour répondre à leurs besoins en matière de développement économique. »

Les fonds versés par FedNor permettront au Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund de financer divers projets de développement économique communautaires dans sa zone de service. Établi à Thunder Bay, le Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund compte parmi 24 sociétés d’aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) financées par FedNor afin d’offrir des services aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Nord de l’Ontario. Les SADC sont des organismes à but non lucratif qui sont administrés par un conseil d’administration formé de bénévoles de la région et qui emploient des professionnels chevronnés en matière de développement des entreprises et de l’économie.

« Ce financement, dont nos collectivités ont tant besoin, contribueront à leur pouvoir d’action en facilitant la réalisation de projets de développement économique qui renforceront leur capacité et créeront des emplois, explique Madeline Commanda, présidente du Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund. Nous nous réjouissons de cet engagement qui témoigne de la volonté de FedNor de soutenir assidûment la croissance des entreprises et le développement économique des Autochtones dans nos collectivités du Nord. » 

Le financement de ce projet s’inscrit dans le cadre du Programme de développement du Nord de l’Ontario de FedNor, qui appuie des initiatives visant à renforcer le développement économique des communautés, à stimuler la croissance des entreprises et à faciliter l’innovation dans l’ensemble de la région.

Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de FedNor et de ses programmes, veuillez consulter son site Web à fednor.gc.ca

- 30 -

Renseignements

Sean Osmar
Attaché de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Tony Clement
613-957-2666

Kim Fewchuk
Agente des communications
FedNor
705-941-2105 ou 1-877-333-6673, poste 306

Partagez cette page

Pour faire connaître cette page, cliquez sur le réseau social de votre choix :

Aucun appui n'est accordé, soit de façon expresse ou tacite, à aucun produit ou service.