Government of Canada investment to support economic development in the North Claybelt region

Kapuskasing, Ontario, March 28, 2012 — The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister for FedNor, today announced a Government of Canada investment of more than $236,250 to support community-based economic development initiatives in the North Claybelt region.

“Community Futures organizations are key partners in the Government of Canada’s efforts to strengthen the regional economy, create jobs and position communities throughout Northern Ontario for long-term growth and prosperity,” said Minister Clement. “This investment will provide communities in the North Claybelt region with access to the resources they need to strengthen the economy and attract private sector investments to the area.”

The FedNor funding will enable the North Claybelt Community Futures Development Corporation (CFDC) to fund a variety of community-based economic development projects in its service area. Based in Kapuskasing, the North Claybelt CFDC is one of 24 such organizations funded by FedNor to serve Northern Ontario businesses and communities. CFDCs are not-for-profit organizations, each run by a board of local volunteers and staffed by experienced business and economic development professionals.

“We are proud to partner with the Government of Canada to help build strong, self-sustaining communities and a thriving business sector in the North Claybelt region,” said Gilbert Peters, Chair, North Claybelt CFDC. “The announcement made today will allow us to meet the growing needs of the business community, while helping to strengthen the regional economy.”

Funding for this project was provided through FedNor’s Northern Ontario Development Program, which supports initiatives that strengthen community economic development, enhance business growth and facilitate innovation throughout the region.

To find out more about FedNor and its programs, visit: fednor.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Sean Osmar
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Tony Clement
613-957-2666

Barclay Babcock
Communications Officer
FedNor
705-671-0715 or 1-877-333-6673 Ext 303

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans le développement de l’économie de la région de North Claybelt

Kapuskasing (Ontario), le 28 mars 2012 — L’honorable Tony Clement, ministre de FedNor, a annoncé aujourd’hui un investissement de plus de 236,250 $ du gouvernement du Canada destiné à soutenir des initiatives communautaires de développement économique dans la région de North Claybelt.

« Les sociétés d’aide au développement économique des collectivités jouent un rôle clé dans le cadre des efforts entrepris par le gouvernement du Canada pour renforcer l’économie régionale, créer de l’emploi et positionner les collectivités du Nord de l’Ontario de façon à favoriser leur croissance et leur prospérité à long terme, a déclaré le ministre Clement. Cet investissement aidera aux collectivités de la région de North Claybelt à accéder aux ressources dont ils ont besoin pour renforcer l’économie et attirer des investissements du secteur privé dans la région. »

Le financement de FedNor permettra à la Société d’aide au développement de la collectivité (SADC) de North Claybelt de financer une gamme de projets communautaires de développement économique dans la région. La SADC de North Claybelt, dont le siège social se situe à Kapuskasing, est l’une de 24 sociétés d’aide au développement des collectivités financées par FedNor afin d’offrir des services aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Nord de l’Ontario. Les SADC sont des organismes communautaires sans but lucratif qui sont gérés par un conseil composé de bénévoles locaux et sont dotés de professionnels chevronnés en matière de développement des entreprises et de l’économie.

« Nous sommes fiers de collaborer avec le gouvernement du Canada en vue de créer des collectivités solides et autonomes, ainsi qu’un secteur des affaires prospère dans la région de North Claybelt, a indiqué Gilbert Peters, président de la SADC de North Claybelt. Grâce au financement annoncé aujourd’hui, nous serons en mesure de répondre aux besoins croissants des gens d’affaires d’ici, tout en aidant à renforcer l’économie de la région. »

Les fonds servant à financer ce projet ont été fournis par l’entremise du Programme de développement du Nord de l’Ontario de FedNor, qui appuie les initiatives visant à renforcer le développement économique des collectivités, à stimuler la croissance des entreprises et à faciliter l’innovation dans toute la région.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur FedNor et ses programmes, veuillez consulter son site Web à fednor.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Sean Osmar
Attaché de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Tony Clement
613-957-2666

Barclay Babcock
Agent de communications
FedNor
705-671-0715 ou 1-877-333-6673, poste 303

Partagez cette page

Pour faire connaître cette page, cliquez sur le réseau social de votre choix :

Aucun appui n'est accordé, soit de façon expresse ou tacite, à aucun produit ou service.