Government of Canada investment to support economic development in the North Bay region

NORTH BAY, Ontario, March 28, 2012 — The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister for FedNor, today announced a Government of Canada investment of $236,250 to support community-based economic development initiatives in the North Bay region.

“The Government of Canada is focused on creating jobs and building a strong economic foundation for communities in Northern Ontario and across the nation,” said Minister Clement. “Today’s announcement demonstrates how our government is investing in local initiatives that stimulate economic growth and generate positive results for the people and businesses in the North Bay region.” 

The FedNor funding will enable the NECO Community Futures Development Corporation (CFDC) to fund a variety of community-based economic development projects in its service area. Based in North Bay, NECO is one of 24 such organizations funded by FedNor to serve Northern Ontario businesses and communities. CFDCs are not-for-profit organizations, each run by a board of local volunteers and staffed by experienced business and economic development professionals.

“The funding announced today will support our ongoing efforts to strengthen the local economy and create jobs in the region,” said Roman Brozowski, Chair, NECO CFDC. “Our ongoing partnership with FedNor and the Government of Canada continues to enhance the economic outlook for North Bay and surrounding areas.”

Funding for this project was provided through FedNor’s Northern Ontario Development Program, which supports initiatives that strengthen community economic development, enhance business growth and facilitate innovation throughout the region.

To find out more about FedNor and its programs, visit: fednor.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Sean Osmar
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Tony Clement
613-957-2666

Barclay Babcock
Communications Officer
FedNor
705-671-0715 or 1-877-333-6673 Ext 303

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Un investissement du gouvernement du Canada appuie le développement économique dans la région de North Bay

NORTH BAY (Ontario), le 28 mars 2012 — L’honorable Tony Clement, ministre de FedNor, a annoncé aujourd’hui un investissement du gouvernement du Canada de 236 250 $ qui appuiera des initiatives communautaires de développement économique dans la région de North Bay.

« Le gouvernement du Canada se préoccupe de la création d’emplois et de l’établissement d’une base économique solide dans les collectivités du Nord de l’Ontario et dans l’ensemble du pays, a déclaré le ministre Clement. L’annonce d’aujourd’hui démontre que notre gouvernement investit dans des initiatives locales qui stimulent la croissance économique et qui produisent des résultats positifs pour les gens et les entreprises de la région de North Bay. »

Le financement accordé par l’intermédiaire de FedNor permettra à NECO, une Société d’aide au développement des collectivités (SADC), de financer divers projets communautaires de développement économique dans le secteur qu’elle dessert. NECO, dont les bureaux sont à North Bay, est l’une des 24 SADC financées par FedNor dans le but de servir les entreprises et les collectivités du Nord de l’Ontario. Chaque SADC est un organisme sans but lucratif dirigé par un conseil formé de bénévoles locaux et doté de professionnels chevronnés dans les domaines des affaires et du développement économique.

« Le financement annoncé aujourd’hui appuiera nos efforts continus visant à renforcer l’économie locale et à créer des emplois dans la région, a affirmé M. Roman Brozowski, président de NECO. Notre partenariat permanent avec FedNor et le gouvernement du Canada continue d’améliorer les perspectives économiques de North Bay et des régions avoisinantes. »

Les fonds servant à financer ce projet ont été fournis par l’intermédiaire du Programme de développement du Nord de l’Ontario de FedNor, qui appuie les initiatives visant à renforcer le développement économique communautaire, à stimuler la croissance des entreprises et à encourager l’innovation dans toute la région.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur FedNor et ses programmes, visitez son site Web à fednor.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Renseignements

Sean Osmar
Attaché de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Tony Clement
613-957-2666

Barclay Babcock
Agent des communications
FedNor
705-671-0715 ou 1-877-333-6673, poste 303

Partagez cette page

Pour faire connaître cette page, cliquez sur le réseau social de votre choix :

Aucun appui n'est accordé, soit de façon expresse ou tacite, à aucun produit ou service.