Achievements and priorities


Message from the Director General

In 2015-16, FedNor continued to work in close collaboration with stakeholders, our partners and all levels of government to grow and diversify Northern Ontario's economy.

Over the past year, FedNor launched the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program (CIP 150) in Northern Ontario. With an allocation of $10.4 million over two years, CIP 150 has been met with great enthusiasm by communities across the North. Established to celebrate Canada's 150th anniversary, the program will leave a lasting legacy to communities in the region through the rehabilitation or improvement of existing community infrastructure and facilities.

FedNor has also been hard at work over the past 12 months supporting projects and initiatives through its core programming, including its flagship Northern Ontario Development Program (NODP), Community Futures Program and Economic Development Initiative. As part of the Government of Canada's Innovation Agenda, FedNor has been focusing its efforts on projects that promote innovation, new technology, and the growth of businesses that support a knowledge-based economy.

In 2016-17, FedNor will continue to closely align its programming with the federal government's Innovation Agenda. This includes a commitment to support clean technology initiatives, advance business innovation and technologies, and working in collaboration with a variety of partners to scale up high-impact Northern Ontario firms to increase their global competitiveness.

FedNor will also continue to work in close collaboration with Indigenous communities, the Province of Ontario and all partners on the Ring of Fire mining development. Improving the conditions in Indigenous communities across Canada is one of the federal government's foremost priorities, and the Ring of Fire project has the potential to improve the economic and social conditions in remote First Nations in the region for generations to come.

These are but a few examples of the efforts we will undertake in the coming year.

As always, extensive outreach and collaboration efforts with stakeholders and partners will allow us to remain responsive to the needs of Northern Ontario.

The past year has brought many successes and rest assured that in 2016-17, FedNor will continue to serve as your federal partner for Northern Ontario.

Aime J. Dimatteo
FedNor


Results and Achievements 2015-16

FedNor

During 2015-16, FedNor delivered significant results for people, communities and small and medium-sized businesses of Northern Ontario. By working in collaboration with partners from across the region, and all levels of government, FedNor supported a broad range of projects to promote growth and prosperity in the region.

In 2015-16:

FedNor achieved greater uptake of its programming through targeted initiatives specifically designed for the region such as the Community Investment Initiative for Northern Ontario and the Targeted Manufacturing Initiative for Northern Ontario.

In 2015-16, the organization also initiated the intake process for the national Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program in Northern Ontario. The Program helps celebrate Canada's 150th anniversary through the rehabilitation or improvement, including expansion, of existing community infrastructure assets and facilities.

In addition, FedNor continued to play a lead role in coordinating federal efforts related to the Ring of Fire mining development opportunity. Investments by key federal departments and agencies, including FedNor, totalled more than $13.2 million in support of 17 projects aimed at building a solid foundation to help generate new economic opportunities.

Northern Ontario Development Program

In 2015-16, through the Northern Ontario Development Program (NODP), FedNor continued to make investments in three priority areas:

During this time, FedNor focussed on projects that helped build and nurture an innovation ecosystem closely aligned with the Government of Canada's Innovation Agenda, supporting business acceleration and growth.

For example, FedNor supported projects that:

Through the NODP, FedNor also continued support for key initiatives such as:

Performance Measurement

An evaluation of the NODP, completed in May 2016, found that the Program continues to be relevant, performs well and delivers results for Northern Ontario communities and businesses. Implementation of recommendations from past evaluations resulted in a refocused program that demonstrates strong measurable outcomes. Improved performance measurement and administrative procedures resulted in enhanced oversight of program priorities through the implementation of a two-phased application process, published service standards, and improved project analysis and data integrity procedures. FedNor will continue to support the Government of Canada's Innovation Agenda, while intensifying efforts to track and report on the medium-term outcomes of the NODP.

Community Futures Program

Through the Community Futures Program, the Department engaged the Northern Ontario's 24 Community Futures Development Corporations (CFDCs) to foster economic stability, growth and job creation, help create diversified and competitive local rural economies and build economically sustainable communities in the region.

In 2015-16, Northern Ontario CFDCs:

As a result of this lending activity:

FedNor also implemented the Community Futures Youth Internship Program to extend placement of qualified youth in private sector companies.

An audit on the Community Futures Program was completed in 2014-15 with favourable results with respect to governance, risk management and control processes. Implementation of recommendations that occurred in 2015-16 has resulted in enhanced oversight of program priorities through the implementation of a bi-annual update. FedNor has also strengthened its risk management process by launching a new risk assessment tool and guidelines.

FedNor continued to engage Community Futures Organizations, including Community Futures Development Corporations, their regional networks and provincial association, through various activities including outreach/liaison, capacity building, program and policy development, referrals, compliance monitoring in regard to contribution agreements, and other collaborative activities.

Economic Development Initiative

In 2015-16, FedNor invested $1.1 million in 15 projects completed through the Economic Development Initiative (EDI), which resulted in the creation or maintenance of 55 jobs. For every FedNor dollar invested through EDI during 2015-16, $0.73 was leveraged from other sources.

Outreach and Collaboration

FedNor continued its outreach and collaboration efforts, engaging key stakeholders, community and business leaders, as well as federal, provincial and other partners to promote the advancement of key files. These efforts include:

Efficiencies

In 2015-16, FedNor undertook the renewal and transformation of business processes through cost reduction and efficiency improvement initiatives such as:

Social Media

In 2015-16, FedNor expanded upon the use of social media for marketing FedNor and its programs to the public and stakeholders, including through the use of Twitter.


FedNor Priorities 2016-17

FedNor will continue to administer programs to support economic and community development in Northern Ontario. More specifically:

For the Northern Ontario Development Program (NODP), FedNor will:

For the Community Futures Program (CFP), FedNor will:

For the Economic Development Initiative (EDI), supported through the Government of Canada's Roadmap for Canada's Official Languages (2013-2018): Education, Immigration, Communities, FedNor will:

For the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program (CIP 150), FedNor will:

For the Ring of Fire, FedNor will:

FedNor will continue a high level of collaboration with federal, provincial and other key partners to:

As corporate initiatives, FedNor will:

As communications initiatives, FedNor will:

Date modified:

Résultats et réalisations


Message du directeur général

En 2015-2016, FedNor a continué de collaborer étroitement avec les intervenants, nos partenaires et tous les ordres de gouvernement afin de stimuler et de diversifier l'économie du Nord de l'Ontario.

L'année dernière, FedNor a lancé le Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 (PIC 150) dans le Nord de l'Ontario. Les collectivités du Nord ont accueilli avec beaucoup d'enthousiasme le PIC 150, qui bénéficie d'un financement de 10,4 millions de dollars sur deux ans. Créé dans le but de souligner le 150e anniversaire du Canada, ce programme laissera un patrimoine durable aux collectivités de la région grâce à la modernisation ou à l'amélioration d'infrastructures et d'installations communautaires existantes.

FedNor a également travaillé très fort au cours des 12 derniers mois pour soutenir des projets et des initiatives au moyen de ses principaux programmes, notamment son programme phare, le Programme de développement du Nord de l'Ontario (PDNO), ainsi que le Programme de développement des collectivités et l'Initiative de développement économique. Dans le cadre du Programme d'innovation du gouvernement du Canada, FedNor concentre ses efforts sur les projets qui favorisent l'innovation, les nouvelles technologies et la croissance des entreprises qui soutiennent une économie axée sur le savoir.

En 2016-2017, FedNor continuera d'harmoniser soigneusement ses programmes avec le Programme d'innovation du gouvernement du Canada. Pour ce faire, il faudra prendre l'engagement de soutenir les initiatives concernant les technologies propres, faire progresser les technologies et les innovations d'entreprise, et travailler en collaboration avec un éventail de partenaires pour aider les entreprises à impact élevé du Nord de l'Ontario à prendre de l'expansion et à accroître leur compétitivité à l'échelle mondiale.

FedNor continuera également de travailler en étroite collaboration avec les collectivités autochtones, la province de l'Ontario et tous les partenaires pour le développement minier du Cercle de feu. L'amélioration des conditions des collectivités autochtones dans l'ensemble du pays est l'une des priorités absolues du gouvernement fédéral, et le projet du Cercle de feu pourrait améliorer les conditions sociales et économiques des Premières Nations éloignées dans la région pour les générations à venir.

Ce ne sont là que quelques exemples des efforts que nous allons déployer au cours de la prochaine année.

Comme toujours, des activités poussées de sensibilisation et de collaboration auprès des intervenants et de nos partenaires nous permettront de répondre aux besoins du Nord de l'Ontario.

L'année dernière, nous avons connu de nombreux succès et, en 2016-2017, il ne fait aucun doute que FedNor demeurera le partenaire fédéral pour le Nord de l'Ontario.

Aime J. Dimatteo
FedNor


Résultats et réalisations de 2015-2016

FedNor

En 2015-2016, les activités de FedNor ont donné des résultats notables pour la population, les collectivités et les petites et moyennes entreprises du Nord de l'Ontario. En travaillant en collaboration avec des partenaires de la région et tous les ordres de gouvernement, FedNor a soutenu un large éventail de projets afin de stimuler la croissance et la prospérité dans la région.

En 2015-2016 :

FedNor a amélioré l'adoption de ses programmes au moyen d'initiatives ciblées conçues spécialement pour la région, comme l'Initiative d'investissement communautaire pour le Nord de l'Ontario et l'Initiative de fabrication ciblée du Nord de l'Ontario.

En 2015-2016, l'organisation a également lancé le processus d'appel de demandes pour le Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 dans le Nord de l'Ontario. Le programme a pour but de souligner le 150e anniversaire du Canada en facilitant la rénovation ou l'amélioration, y compris l'agrandissement, d'installations et d'infrastructures communautaires existantes.

De plus, FedNor a continué de jouer un rôle de premier plan dans la coordination des efforts du gouvernement fédéral concernant la possibilité de développement minier du Cercle de feu. Les investissements effectués par les principaux ministères et organismes fédéraux, notamment FedNor, ont atteint plus de 13,2 millions de dollars en soutien à 17 projets ayant pour but de jeter des fondements solides pour créer de nouveaux débouchés économiques.

Programme de développement du Nord de l'Ontario

En 2015-2016, par l'entremise du Programme de développement du Nord de l'Ontario (PDNO), FedNor a continué d'investir dans trois domaines prioritaires :

Au cours de cette période, FedNor a concentré son attention sur des projets qui contribuaient à créer et à entretenir un écosystème de l'innovation étroitement harmonisé avec le Programme d'innovation du gouvernement du Canada pour soutenir la croissance et l'accélération des entreprises.

Par exemple, FedNor a accordé son soutien à des projets qui :

Par le biais du PDNO, FedNor a également continué de soutenir des initiatives clés, notamment les suivantes :

Mesure du rendement

Une évaluation du PDNO réalisée en mai 2016 a révélé que le programme continue d'être pertinent, qu'il offre un bon rendement, et qu'il donne des résultats pour les entreprises et les collectivités du Nord de l'Ontario. La mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées lors d'évaluations antérieures a permis de recentrer le programme, ce qui donne de solides résultats mesurables. Une amélioration des procédures d'administration et de mesure du rendement a contribué à accroître la surveillance des priorités de programme grâce à la mise en œuvre d'un processus de demande en deux étapes, à la publication de normes de service et à l'amélioration des procédures relatives à l'intégrité des données et à l'analyse des projets. FedNor continuera de soutenir le Programme d'innovation du gouvernement du Canada, tout en intensifiant ses efforts pour assurer un suivi et rendre compte des résultats à moyen terme du PDNO.

Programme de développement des collectivités

Par l'entremise du Programme de développement des collectivités, FedNor a mobilisé les 24 Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) du Nord de l'Ontario pour favoriser une stabilité et une croissance économiques et la création d'emplois, établir des économies locales diversifiées et compétitives en milieu rural, et bâtir des collectivités économiquement viables dans la région.

En 2015-2016, les SADC du Nord de l'Ontario ont :

Les résultats découlant de ces activités de prêt sont les suivants :

FedNor a également mis en œuvre l'Initiative Jeunes stagiaires du Programme de développement des collectivités afin de placer un plus grand nombre de jeunes travailleurs qualifiés dans des entreprises du secteur privé.

FedNor a continué de mobiliser les organismes de développement des collectivités, y compris les Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités, leurs réseaux régionaux et leur association provinciale, au moyen de différentes activités comme la sensibilisation/communication, le renforcement de la capacité, l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes, les aiguillages, la surveillance de la conformité relativement aux ententes de contribution, et d'autres activités de collaboration.

Initiative de développement économique

En 2015-2016, FedNor a investi 1,1 million de dollars dans 15 projets réalisés dans le cadre de l'Initiative de développement économique (IDE), lesquels se sont traduits par la création ou le maintien de 55 emplois. Pour chaque dollar investi par FedNor par l'entremise de l'IDE en 2015 2016, 0,73 $ a été obtenu d'autres sources.

Sensibilisation et collaboration

FedNor a poursuivi ses efforts de collaboration et de sensibilisation en mobilisant des intervenants clés, des dirigeants de collectivités et d'entreprises, ainsi que des partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et autres, pour faire progresser des dossiers clés. Ces efforts comprennent notamment les suivants :

Gains d'efficacité

En 2015-2016, FedNor a amorcé le renouvellement et la transformation de processus opérationnels au moyen d'initiatives de réduction des coûts et d'amélioration de l'efficacité, notamment les suivantes :

Médias sociaux

En 2015-2016, FedNor a fait davantage appel aux médias sociaux pour faire connaître FedNor et ses programmes au grand public et aux intervenants, notamment en utilisant le réseau Twitter.


Résumé des priorités pour l'année 2016-2017

FedNor continuera d'administrer les programmes à l'appui du développement économique et communautaire dans le Nord de l'Ontario. Plus particulièrement :

Dans le cas du Programme de développement du Nord de l'Ontario (PDNO), FedNor :

Pour ce qui est du Programme de développement des collectivités (PDC), FedNor :

Pour ce qui est de l'Initiative de développement économique (IDE), qui bénéficie d'un soutien du gouvernement du Canada par le biais de la Feuille de route pour les langues officielles du Canada (2013 2018) : Éducation, Immigration, Communautés, FedNor :

En ce qui concerne le Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 (PIC 150), FedNor :

Pour ce qui est du Cercle de feu, FedNor :

FedNor poursuivra une collaboration de haut niveau avec les gouvernements fédéral et provincial et d'autres partenaires clés afin d'accomplir ce qui suit :

Pour ce qui est des initiatives organisationnelles, FedNor :

En ce qui concerne les initiatives de communication, FedNor :

Date de modification :