Our Organization

FedNor is the Government of Canada’s economic development organization for Northern Ontario. Through its programs and services, and through its financial support of projects that lead to job creation and economic growth, FedNor works with businesses and community partners to build a stronger Northern Ontario.

FedNor’s main funding vehicle, the Northern Ontario Development Program (NODP), focuses on three main priorities:

Through the Community Futures Program, FedNor also supports a network of 24 Community Futures Development Corporations (CFDCs) across Northern Ontario. These locally driven CFDCs provide business financing and services, as well as support for community-based economic development projects.

Also, as the need is determined and priorities change, FedNor delivers other Government of Canada programs designed to contribute to economic development in Northern Ontario. Recent examples include the Economic Development Initiative (EDI) for Official Language Minority Communities, as well as the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program.

In addition to its efforts through these funding vehicles, FedNor is strongly focused on outreach and collaboration efforts that engage community leaders and stakeholders as we work to better meet the current and future needs of Northern Ontario. FedNor does this by identifying and actively leading important files including the emerging Ring of Fire mining development – considered a generational mining opportunity that could re-shape Northern Ontario’s economy – as well as by collaborating with our federal partners to ensure Northerners have full access to the wide slate of programs and services offered by the Government of Canada.

In short, FedNor is your federal partner in Northern Ontario.

Date modified:

Notre organisme

FedNor est l'organisme du gouvernement du Canada responsable du développement économique du Nord de l'Ontario. Par l'intermédiaire de ses programmes et services et au moyen de l'aide financière offerte pour les projets qui visent à créer des emplois et à faire croître l'économie, FedNor collabore avec des entreprises et des partenaires communautaires en vue de renforcer le Nord de l'Ontario.

Le principal moyen de financement de FedNor, le Programme de développement du Nord de l’Ontario (PDNO), est axé sur trois priorités clés :

Par l’entremise du Programme de développement des collectivités, FedNor appuie également un réseau de 24 Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) dans le Nord de l’Ontario. Ces SADC locales offrent du financement et des services aux entreprises ainsi que du soutien aux projets de développement économique communautaire.

Par ailleurs, en fonction des besoins déterminés et des priorités changeantes, FedNor offre d’autres programmes du gouvernement du Canada conçus pour contribuer au développement économique du Nord de l’Ontario. Parmi des exemples récents figurent l’Initiative de développement économique (IDE) pour les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire ainsi que le Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150.

En plus de ses efforts déployés au moyen de ce financement, FedNor met l’accent sur l’interaction et la collaboration qui mobilisent les dirigeants et les intervenants communautaires pour que nous travaillions afin de mieux répondre aux besoins actuels et futurs du Nord de l’Ontario. FedNor y parvient en cernant et en dirigeant de façon active d’importants dossiers, dont le développement minier émergeant du Cercle de feu, considéré comme une occasion générationnelle dans le secteur minier qui pourrait réorganiser l’économie du Nord de l’Ontario, ainsi qu'en collaborant avec des partenaires fédéraux pour s’assurer que les habitants du Nord ont plein accès à la vaste gamme de programmes et de services offerts par le gouvernement du Canada.

En somme, FedNor est votre partenaire fédéral dans le Nord de l’Ontario.

Date de modification :