Frequently asked questions - Targeted Manufacturing Initiative for Northern Ontario

Productivity Improvements Component

Q: What is the purpose of the Productivity Improvements component of the Targeted Manufacturing Initiative for Northern Ontario (TMINO)?
A: Through the Productivity Improvements component of FedNor’s TMINO, Northern Ontario companies can apply for financing to modernize their operations by upgrading and improving equipment used in their manufacturing process. The goal is to help manufacturers boost their productivity, leading to increased sales and exports, as well as job creation.

Q: Who is eligible?
A: Manufacturers located in Northern Ontario with fewer than 500 employees.

Q: What are the funding conditions?
A: Generally, FedNor will contribute up to 33 percent of eligible capital costs and up to 50 percent of eligible non-capital costs. All funding contributions are repayable. Repayable contributions are interest free and provide flexible repayment schedules.

Q: How are project applications assessed?
A:  Applications will be assessed against the criteria outlined in the TMINO guidelines and against the Northern Ontario Development Program general Terms and Conditions. Applicants cannot presume that financial support will be provided toward their project until written approval is obtained through a signed contribution agreement.

Q: What is the project application process?
A:  To apply to FedNor’s Targeted Manufacturing Initiative for Northern Ontario, applicants must first submit an Application for financial assistance form. Upon written confirmation from FedNor that the application can proceed, applicants will be asked to submit a Detailed Submission (Phase Two), as well as other supporting documentation where required. Before completing your application, carefully review the TMINO guidelines to ensure your organization is an eligible recipient and your proposed activities fit within the objectives and criteria of this initiative. FedNor officers are available to guide applicants through the application process.  

Q: What is the deadline to submit applications for TMINO?
A:  There is no deadline; applications will be accepted on a continuous basis.

Q: What costs are eligible?
A: Eligible costs are those that will improve and modernize the manufacturing process, leading to increased productivity and competitiveness. Examples of eligible costs include:

  • Manufacturing / production equipment purchases, including digital hardware and software;
  • Installation and associated training costs;
  • Process/quality control improvements, and certifications; or
  • Other modernization efforts.

Consult the TMINO guidelines for more information.

Q: What costs are ineligible?
A: Ineligible costs include, but are not limited to, land, buildings, vehicles, marketing, studies, overhead, depreciation and salaries.

Q: How much money is FedNor earmarking for this initiative?
A: FedNor will entertain all eligible applications through its Northern Ontario Development Program. How much FedNor invests will depend on the number of applications it receives. It is important to note that the Targeted Manufacturing Initiative for Northern Ontario was designed to meet the needs of Northern Ontario small and medium-sized businesses, helping them to become more productive and competitive in the global marketplace.

Q: Will there be any new money available for TMINO?
A: No. FedNor will be supporting the TMINO through its Northern Ontario Development Program. FedNor is always evaluating needs to ensure its investments have the greatest impact on the growth of Northern Ontario's economy and the growth of a more innovative manufacturing sector is a priority.

Q:  What else is the Government of Canada doing for Manufacturing?
A:  Budget 2013 established an Advanced Manufacturing Fund that will provide $200 million over five years to support investments by Ontario manufacturing firms in activities that create new and innovative products or production methods, such as prototyping, demonstration projects and advanced product testing. The new fund will be managed by the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario.

Date modified:

Foire aux questions - Initiative de fabrication ciblée du Nord de l'Ontario

Volet Amélioration de la productivité

Q : Quel est l’objectif du volet Amélioration de la productivité de l’Initiative de fabrication ciblée du Nord de l'Ontario (IFCNO)?
R : Dans le cadre du volet Amélioration de la productivité de l’IFCNO de FedNor, les entreprises du Nord de l’Ontario peuvent présenter une demande de financement en vue de moderniser leurs activités en mettant à niveau ou en améliorant l’équipement utilisé dans leurs processus de fabrication. L’objectif est de permettre aux fabricants de stimuler leur productivité, ce qui favorisera l’augmentation des ventes et des exportations, ainsi que la création d’emplois.

Q : Qui est admissible?
R : Les fabricants du Nord de l’Ontario dont l’effectif est inférieur à 500 salariés.

Q : Quelles sont les conditions de financement?
R : En général, la contribution de FedNor pourra atteindre 33 % des coûts en capital admissibles et 50 % des coûts autres qu’en capital admissibles. Toutes les contributions financières sont remboursables. Les contributions remboursables sont sans intérêt et sont assorties d’un calendrier de remboursement flexible.

Q : De quelle façon les demandes seront-elles évaluées?
R : Les demandes seront évaluées en fonction des critères énoncés dans les lignes directrices de l’IFCNO et des conditions générales du Programme de développement du Nord de l’Ontario. Les demandeurs ne peuvent pas tenir pour acquis qu’une aide financière sera accordée à leur projet tant qu’ils n’auront pas obtenu d’approbation écrite sous la forme d’une entente de contribution signée.

Q : En quoi consiste le processus de présentation d’une demande?
R : Pour présenter une demande dans le cadre de l’Initiative de fabrication ciblée du Nord de l'Ontario de FedNor, les demandeurs doivent d’abord présenter un formulaire de demande d’aide financière. Lorsque FedNor confirmera par écrit que la demande peut être traitée, les demandeurs devront présenter une demande détaillée (deuxième étape) et les documents justificatifs, au besoin. Avant de remplir votre demande, lisez attentivement les lignes directrices de l’IFCNO afin de vous assurer que votre organisation est admissible et que les activités que vous proposez respectent les objectifs et critères de l’Initiative. Les agents de FedNor demeureront à la disposition des demandeurs afin de les conseiller tout au long du processus de demande.

Q : Quelle est l’échéance pour la présentation d’une demande au titre de l’IFCNO?
R : Aucune échéance ne s’applique ici. Les demandes sont acceptées de façon continue.

Q : Quels sont les coûts admissibles?
R : Sont admissibles les coûts permettant d’améliorer et de moderniser le processus de fabrication, ce qui contribuera à une productivité et à une compétitivité accrues. Voici des exemples de coûts admissibles :

  • l’achat d’équipement de fabrication/production, y compris le matériel et les logiciels numériques;
  • l’installation et les coûts de formation connexes;
  • les améliorations apportées au processus/contrôle de la qualité et les attestations à cet égard;
  • les autres efforts de modernisation.

Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, consulter les lignes directrices de l’IFCNO.

Q : Quels sont les coûts inadmissibles?
R : Sont inadmissibles, notamment, les coûts liés à l’acquisition de terres, à la construction, aux véhicules, à la commercialisation et aux études, les frais généraux, les pertes liées à la dépréciation et les salaires.

Q : Quel est le montant des fonds qu’affecte FedNor à cette initiative?
R : FedNor examinera toutes les demandes admissibles dans le cadre de son Programme de développement du Nord de l’Ontario. Le montant investi par FedNor dépendra du nombre de demandes reçues. Il convient de noter que l’Initiative de fabrication ciblée du Nord de l'Ontario a été conçue pour répondre aux besoins des PME du Nord de l’Ontario pour leur permettre de devenir plus productives et concurrentielles sur le marché international.

Q : Est-ce que des fonds supplémentaires seront affectés à l’IFCNO?
R : Non. FedNor appuiera l’IFCNO par l’intermédiaire de son Programme de développement du Nord de l’Ontario. FedNor évalue continuellement les besoins afin que ses investissements aient une incidence maximale sur l’économie du Nord de l’Ontario. La croissance d’un secteur de la fabrication plus novateur constitue une priorité.

Q : Quelles sont les autres mesures du gouvernement du Canada à l’appui de la fabrication?
R : Le budget de 2013 prévoit un financement de 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans afin de mettre sur pied le Fonds de fabrication de pointe. Ce fonds appuie les entreprises manufacturières de l’Ontario qui investissent dans des activités visant à mettre au point des méthodes de production et des produits innovants, comme la création de prototypes, les projets de démonstration et les essais de produits de pointe. L’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario sera responsable de l’administration du fonds.

Date de modification :