Frequently Asked Questions - Economic Development Initiative (EDI) in Northern Ontario

What is the Economic Development Initiative?

The Economic Development Initiative (EDI) is a Government of Canada initiative that is part of the Roadmap for Canada’s Official Languages 2013-2018 announced in March 2013. It provides funding for projects that encourage economic growth in the region's Francophone communities and that capitalize on economic opportunities made possible through the use of both official languages.

How much money will be available for EDI in Northern Ontario?

Over five years, FedNor will receive $4 million to support eligible projects through EDI, including business and economic development activities that support innovation, economic diversification and business growth.

What does FedNor hope to achieve through its EDI investments?

The objective of EDI is to enhance the economic vitality of Northern Ontario's Francophone community (this region’s official language minority community) and enhance the region’s competitiveness through linguistic duality.

For example, FedNor’s EDI investments could include a regional project that supports small and medium-sized enterprises, including co-operatives, in their efforts to adopt a second official language in order to grow and become more competitive, spurring trade, tourism and investment in new and existing markets.

Who can apply to receive EDI funding?

Organizations that are eligible for funding through EDI include Francophone or other organizations that undertake project activities in both official languages, and are located in Northern Ontario. A more comprehensive list of eligible recipients is available on the FedNor website at: fednor.gc.ca/EDI

What types of activities will EDI support in Northern Ontario?

EDI will support economic development activities that respond directly to economic priorities of official language minority communities (OLMCs) and/or that enhance linguistic duality.

For example, EDI could support a regional project to encourage SMEs to provide their products or services in both official languages; a youth internship with a not-for-profit OLMC cultural enterprise such as a festival or tourism event, or; a project to help Francophone organizations keep pace with technological change, the digital economy, particularly new media and social media. For a more complete list of eligible activities, please consult FedNor’s website at: fednor.gc.ca/EDI

Are funding contributions through EDI repayable?

Funding assistance provided through EDI is provided in the form of both repayable and non-repayable contributions. Contributions will normally be repayable where proposed projects generate profits for the eligible applicant. Youth internships are non-repayable. Eligible applicants are expected to contribute a minimum of 10 percent of project costs.

Date modified:

Foire aux questions - Initiative de développement économique (IDE) dans le Nord de l’Ontario

Qu’est-ce que l’Initiative de développement économique?

L’Initiative de développement économique (IDE) est une initiative du gouvernement du Canada qui fait partie de la Feuille de route pour les langues officielles du Canada 2013-2018 annoncée en mars 2013. Elle sert à financer les projets qui favorisent la croissance économique dans les collectivités francophones de la région et qui tirent parti des débouchés rendus possibles par la dualité linguistique.

À combien se chiffrent les fonds de l’IDE destinés au Nord de l’Ontario?

FedNor recevra 4 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour soutenir les projets admissibles par l’entremise de l’IDE, notamment les activités de développement des entreprises et économique à l’appui de l’innovation, de la diversification économique et de la croissance des entreprises.

Que souhaite accomplir FedNor grâce à ses investissements au titre de l’IDE?

L’IDE vise à accroître la vitalité économique de la communauté francophone du Nord de l’Ontario (la communauté de langue officielle en situation minoritaire de la région) et à améliorer la compétitivité de la région grâce à la dualité linguistique.

Par exemple, les investissements de FedNor au titre de l’IDE pourraient inclure un projet régional qui appuie les petites et moyennes entreprises, y compris les coopératives, dans leurs efforts pour adopter une deuxième langue officielle afin de prendre de l’expansion et de devenir plus concurrentielles, de façon à stimuler le commerce, le tourisme et l’investissement dans des marchés nouveaux et existants. 

Qui peut présenter une demande de financement dans le cadre de l’IDE?

Les organismes admissibles à recevoir du financement dans le cadre de l’IDE sont notamment les organismes francophones et autres qui participent à des activités de projet dans les deux langues officielles et qui sont situés dans le Nord de l’Ontario. Une liste complète des bénéficiaires admissibles figure sur le site Web de FedNor à : fednor.gc.ca/IDE

Quels types d’activité l’IDE appuiera-t-elle dans le Nord de l’Ontario?

L’IDE appuiera les activités de développement économique qui répondent directement aux priorités des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) ou qui favorisent la dualité linguistique.

Par exemple, l’IDE pourrait soutenir un projet qui incite les PME à fournir leurs produits et services dans les deux langues officielles, un stage pour les jeunes dans une entreprise culturelle sans but lucratif d’une CLOSM comme un festival ou un évènement touristique, un projet qui permet aux organisations francophones de suivre le rythme des avancées technologiques et de l’économie numérique, en particulier les nouveaux médias et les médias sociaux. Une liste complète des bénéficiaires admissibles figure sur le site Web de FedNor à : fednor.gc.ca/IDE.

Est-ce que les contributions financières versées dans le cadre de l’IDE sont remboursables?

L’aide financière fournie dans le cadre de l’IDE est versée à titre de contribution remboursable ou non remboursable. Les contributions seront en principe remboursables là où les projets proposés génèrent des profits pour le demandeur admissible. Le financement des stages pour jeunes n’est pas remboursable. Les demandeurs admissibles doivent fournir une contribution minimale d’au moins dix pour cent des coûts du projet.

Date de modification :