Eat Local Sudbury: from farm gate to dinner plate

Cash Crops

Photo

Pamela Charron rings up another sale at the Eat Local Sudbury Co-op store. The storefront operation in the heart of downtown Sudbury provides one-stop local food shopping for the public and the more than 600 ELS co-op members.

With the trees and bush of Northern Ontario slowly transformed by autumn's colours, the fall harvest has yielded another bounty of freshly grown produce from the farms that stretch across the region. As a direct result of the growing popularity of community Farmers' Markets and regional food cooperatives, more of the good things that grow in Northern Ontario are making it into the kitchens of area homes and restaurants.

Eat Local Sudbury (ELS) is a not-for-profit cooperative with over 60 Northern Ontario food producers from across the regions of Sudbury, Muskoka, Manitoulin, Algoma, Nipissing and Timiskaming. With a large retail store in downtown Sudbury, these food growers and producers are benefiting from the buying power of over 600 co-op members plus the public who shop for a variety of local and regional meats and vegetables, dairy products, plus coffees, teas, as well as other value-added food products.

"The expansion of our store last May has made an exceptional difference in the flow, product offerings and customer experience that we can offer", says Peggy Baillie, Managing Director of ELS. "We've seen a substantial increase in sales, which means direct increases in purchases from local producers, processors and food related businesses." The burgeoning movement of buying more foodstuffs locally is rooted in a sensible consumer belief that everyone benefits, according to Ms. Baillie. "We work collectively with the producers to ensure that we can all grow together in a sustainable manner that ensures the long term viability of all our businesses," she says. "At the same time, more and more people who come into the store are amazed at being able to access local food, seven days a week, all year round. They want to know where their food is from and how it is grown and Eat Local Sudbury offers that."

Autumn Harvest

Photo

Peggy Baillie, Managing Director of Eat Local Sudbury (left) and Ella Myers, a store employee, examine bushels of yellow corn grown from Sturgeon Falls. Many of the regionally grown food goods and value-added products featured at the Eat Local Sudbury shop cannot be found in commercial grocery stores.

Whether it's food quality, freshness or taste, buying locally not only supports area farms but provides a much-needed boost to the economy. In 2012, a FedNor investment of $66,000 helped Eat Local Sudbury to establish a distribution network for Northern Ontario value-added food products to help producers gain access to new markets, streamline distribution and increase sales. "This project directly influenced the growth of the organization by more than doubling sales in 12 months, which translates to over $300,000 in increased purchases from local producers," says Ms. Baillie. "FedNor's assistance is helping to ensure the success of our work continues as the organization grows."

Currently, FedNor is working with Eat Local Sudbury on the development of a business expansion plan that would see the launch of a new retail store, a food distribution warehouse, along with a food education centre. "These business ventures will be expansions to our existing work," says Ms. Baillie. "Knowing that the Government of Canada recognizes the importance of Agriculture and Agri-food industries to Northern Ontario allows us to expand our capacity and increase a local and sustainable food system for Northern consumers."

Date modified:

Mangeons local Sudbury : de la ferme à l’assiette

Moisson dorée

Photo

Pamela Charron boucle une autre vente au magasin de la coopérative Mangeons local Sudbury. Le magasin du centre-ville de Sudbury permet à la population et à plus de 600 membres de la coopérative MLS d'acheter leurs produits alimentaires locaux à un seul endroit.

Alors que les feuilles des arbres et des arbustes du Nord de l'Ontario revêtent peu à peu leurs couleurs d'automne, la récolte dans les fermes de l'ensemble de la région a encore une fois produit une multitude de fruits et légumes frais. Comme résultat direct de la popularité croissante des marchés de fermiers locaux et des coopératives régionales fait en sorte que davantage de bons produits cultivés dans le Nord de l’Ontario se retrouvent dans nos assiettes à la maison ou au restaurant.

Mangeons local Sudbury (MLS) est une coopérative sans but lucratif formée de plus de 60 producteurs d’aliments du Nord de l’Ontario venant des quatre coins de la région, de Sudbury à Muskoka, en passant par Manitoulin, Algoma, Nipissing et Timiskaming. Possédant un grand magasin de détail au centre-ville de Sudbury, les cultivateurs et producteurs alimentaires profitent du pouvoir d'achat de plus de 600 membres de la coopérative et des membres de la population qui cherchent divers types de viandes et de légumes, des produits laitiers, du café, du thé ainsi que d'autres produits alimentaires à valeur ajoutée.

« L'agrandissement de notre magasin en mai dernier a fait tout une différence pour ce qui est de l'affluence des clients et de l'offre des produits et ainsi que de l'expérience offerte aux clients, a affirmé Peggy Baillie, directrice générale de MLS. Nos ventes ont augmenté considérablement, ce qui a entrainé une augmentation de nos achats auprès des producteurs, des transformateurs et des entreprises liées au secteur de l'alimentation dans la région. » Selon Mme Baillie, cette tendance croissante d'acheter des produits alimentaires locaux repose sur la croyance profonde des clients que tout le monde y trouve son compte. « Nous collaborons avec les producteurs pour garantir une croissance durable à nous tous, ce qui permet d'assurer la viabilité à long terme de toutes nos entreprises, indique-t-elle. En même temps, de plus en plus de clients du magasin sont impressionnés par notre accès aux produits locaux sept jours par semaine, tout au long de l'année. Ils veulent savoir d'où vient leur nourriture et de quelle façon les produits sont cultivés. C'est ce qu'offre Mangeons local Sudbury. »

Récolte d'automne

Photo

Peggy Baillie, directrice générale de Mangeons local Sudbury (à gauche) et Ella Myers, une employée du magasin, examinent des boisseaux de maïs jaune cultivé à Sturgeon Falls. Bon nombre de produits alimentaires et de produits à valeur ajoutée cultivés dans la région et vendus au magasin de Mangeons local Sudbury ne peuvent pas être trouvés dans les épiceries générales.

Qu'il s'agisse de la qualité, de la fraîcheur ou du goût des produits, le fait d'acheter local permet non seulement d'appuyer les producteurs agricoles locaux, mais également de donner à l'économie le coup de fouet dont elle a tant besoin. En 2012, un investissement de FedNor de 66 000 $ a aidé Mangeons local Sudbury à créer un réseau de distribution pour les produits à valeur ajoutée du Nord de l’Ontario, pour aider aux producteurs de pénétrer de nouveaux marchés, de rationaliser la distribution et d’augmenter les ventes. « Ce projet a eu une incidence directe sur la croissance de l'organisation, les ventes ayant plus que doublé en 12 mois, ce qui a entraîné une hausse des achats auprès des producteurs locaux de plus de 300 000 $, explique Mme Baillie. L'aide de FedNor contribue à garantir le succès de notre travail au fur et à mesure que notre organisation prend de l'expansion. »

Actuellement, FedNor collabore avec Mangeons local Sudbury à l'élaboration d'un plan de croissance de l'entreprise qui permettra le lancement d'un nouveau magasin de détail, d'un entrepôt de distribution alimentaire ainsi qu'un centre d'éducation en alimentation. « Ce projet d'affaires sera le prolongement de notre travail existant, affirme Mme Baillie. Le fait de savoir que le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l'importance des industries agricoles et agroalimentaires du Nord de l'Ontario nous permet d'accroître notre capacité et d'améliorer le système alimentaire local et durable pour les consommateurs du Nord de l'Ontario. »

Date de modification :