Ready for Take-off: Parry Sound Airport puts businesses in flight

Earning Their Wings

Photo

The Parry Sound Area Municipal Airport Project received the "Community Economic Development" Award at the recent Ontario Association of Community Futures Development Corporations' Conference. (l to r) Carmen DeMarco of FedNor, Rick McNabb of the Airport Commission, Bill Spinney of the Parry Sound Area CBDC and the award's sponsor Sharon Wilson.

From a 3,000 ft. paved runway and a trailer for a terminal in 1979, Parry Sound Area Municipal Airport has since become known as the 'Little Airport that Could'. Following a decade-long, five-phase plan to develop infrastructure essential for adding emergency services and attracting small and medium-sized businesses, the Airport's Industrial Expansion Project has landed a prestigious honour from the Ontario Association of Community Futures Development Corporations (OACFDC). It was chosen from several nominations from across the province to receive the Community Economic Development Award in September.

In accepting the award, Doug Sainsbury, Airport Commission Chair and a local Township Councillor proudly boasted, "We are now the only municipal airport in Ontario that's profitable." He added that the airport has also become a major employer in the Township. It was in 2004 that local leaders, including Mr. Sainsbury, recognized that having an airport was an asset in the community. With the tarmac now stretching to 4200 ft., plus the adjoining acreage, the potential for adding an industrial park became a strategic priority.

Each phase of development added necessary infrastructure including water and sewer services, hydro, fire suppression systems, roads, taxiways, aprons and floating docks for amphibious aircraft, plus ground preparation to provide building sites for several aircraft hangars and new small business enterprises. As well, the airport's terminal has been expanded upward with the addition of a second storey that now houses a popular restaurant. By the time Phase Six has been completed by the end of 2014, Parry Sound Area Municipal Airport's Industrial Expansion Project will have leveraged over $10 million in private sector investment in commercial/private hangars and equipment, attracted 10 new business operators to the Airport, added 60 full time jobs and created two full time Airport staff positions.

Approaching Parry Sound Airport

Photo

In just over a decade, Parry Sound Area Municipal Airport has expanded its airfield into a full-fledged industrial park that's attracting new venture start-ups and companies from across central Ontario.

The Industrial Expansion Project was nominated for the OACFDC award by the Parry Sound Area Community Business & Development Centre Inc. (CBDC), one of 24 not-for-profit Community Futures Development Corporations in Northern Ontario supported by FedNor. It offers free business advice, workshops and commercial financing to entrepreneurs looking to develop or grow a business in the Parry Sound region. "This project is now about keeping up with the demand", says Bill Spinney, Executive Director of the Parry Sound Area Community Business & Development Centre Inc. "As we build it, more commercial and industrial tenants are coming to us."

The Parry Sound Area CBDC has been an integral part of the Airport's Industrial Expansion Project since inception, from long-range planning to capital and operational funding, through to its lending portfolios. FedNor has also long been on board with the project. Since 2001, it contributed over $2.4 million to municipal partners to help support the necessary infrastructure to attract private-sector investment to the area. "This is an exciting time at the Parry Sound Area Municipal Airport", says Doug Sainsbury. "We appreciate the Government of Canada's support through FedNor for our business development efforts and the recognition of the immediate and long-term potential of this important project."

Date modified:

Prêt au décollage : L’Aéroport de Parry Sound permet aux entreprises de prendre leur envol

Gagner ses gallons

Photo

Le projet de l’Aéroport municipal de Parry Sound a reçu le prix du « développement économique communautaire » lors de la dernière conférence de l’Association des sociétés d’aide au développement des collectivités de l’Ontario. (De gauche à droite) Carmen DeMarco de FedNor, Rick McNabb de la Commission aéroportuaire, Bill Spinney, SADC de la région de Parry Sound, et la marraine du prix, Sharon Wilson.

L’Aéroport municipal de Parry Sound qui, à sa création en 1979, consistait en une piste pavée de 3 000 pi. et une remorque faisant office d’aérogare, profite aujourd’hui d’une grande prospérité. Le projet d’agrandissement industriel d’aéroport, un plan en cinq étapes échelonné sur dix ans visant à développer l’infrastructure essentielle pour offrir les services d’urgence et attirer des PME, a reçu un prix prestigieux de l’Association des sociétés d’aide au développement des collectivités de l’Ontario (ASADCO). Il a été choisi parmi plusieurs candidats en lice de l’ensemble de la province afin de recevoir en septembre le Prix de développement économique des collectivités.

En acceptant le prix, Doug Sainsbury, président de la Commission aéroportuaire et conseiller de canton pour la région, a déclaré fièrement : « Nous sommes désormais le seul aéroport municipal rentable en Ontario. » Il a ajouté que l’aéroport est devenu l’un des principaux employeurs du canton. En 2004, des dirigeants locaux, dont M. Sainsbury, ont reconnu que la présence d’un aéroport constituait un atout pour la collectivité. Le potentiel pour l’aménagement d’un parc industriel qu’offraient l’aire de trafic de 4200 pi. et les terres connexes était devenu une priorité stratégique.

Chaque phase de développement a permis d’ajouter l’infrastructure nécessaire, notamment les services d’aqueduc et d’égout, l’électricité, les systèmes d’extinction d’incendie, les routes, les voies de circulation, l’aire de trafic et les quais flottants pour les avions amphibies, en plus de la préparation de terrains de construction pour l’installation de plusieurs hangars d’avion et de nouvelles petites entreprises. De plus, l’aérogare a été agrandie en hauteur grâce à l’ajout d’un deuxième étage qui accueille un restaurant populaire. Lorsque la sixième phase sera terminée à la fin de 2014, le projet d’agrandissement industriel de l’Aéroport municipal de Parry Sound aura tiré parti d’investissements de plus de 10 millions de dollars du secteur privé dans des hangars et de l’équipement commerciaux et privés, attiré dix nouveaux exploitants d’entreprises à l’aéroport, ajouté soixante emplois à temps plein et créé deux postes à temps plein d’employé aéroportuaire.

À l’approche de l’aéroport de Parry Sound

Photo

En l’espace de dix ans seulement, l’aéroport municipal de la région de Parry Sound a élargi son terrain d’aviation à un parc industriel à part entière qui attire de nouveaux commerces prometteurs et des entreprises de partout du centre de l’Ontario.

La candidature du projet d’agrandissement industriel a été proposée pour le prix de l’ASADCO par le Community Business & Development Centre Inc. (SADC) de la région de Parry Sound, l’une des 24 sociétés d’aide au développement des collectivités sans but lucratif du Nord de l’Ontario appuyées par FedNor. Elle offre des conseils gratuits, des ateliers et un financement commercial aux entrepreneurs qui désirent démarrer ou développer une entreprise dans la région de Parry Sound. « Ce projet vise à répondre à la demande, affirme Bill Spinney, directeur général du Community Business & Development Centre Inc. Au fur et à mesure que nous progressions dans la construction, plus les locataires commerciaux et industriels venaient à nous. »

La SADC de la région de Parry Sound a joué un rôle essentiel dans le projet d’agrandissement industriel depuis sa création, de la planification à long terme au financement de l’immobilisation et du fonctionnement au moyen de ses portefeuilles de prêt. FedNor participe au projet depuis longtemps. Depuis 2001, FedNor a versé plus de 2,4 millions de dollars aux partenaires municipaux en vue de soutenir l’infrastructure nécessaire pour attirer les investissements du secteur privé dans la région. « L’aéroport municipal de Parry Sound traverse une période intéressante, indique Doug Sainsbury. Nous sommes reconnaissants envers le gouvernement du Canada pour son appui, par l’entremise de FedNor, à nos efforts de développement commercial et pour la reconnaissance du potentiel immédiat et à long terme de cet important projet. »

Date de modification :