Northern Ontario at The Royal: Best in Show

Getting enough fibre at The Royal Winter Fair

Photo

Robert Martel of Meadowview Alpaca Farm in Bruce Mines, Ontario, sells another package of alpaca yarn to a visitor at The Royal Agricultural Winter Fair in Toronto. The Martels enjoyed their best year ever for sales of alpaca clothing apparel and yarn products at the Northern Ontario Pavilion alongside more than 50 other businesses and organizations from the North during the 10 day fair last November.

It all adds up: the Northern Ontario Pavilion at the world's largest annual indoor fair in Toronto was a 'best-ever' event in 2014. With a record number of 57 exhibitors displaying and selling their unique northern products to thousands of visitors at The Royal Agricultural Winter Fair, the results were equally impressive according to FedNor Initiatives Officer Guy Paquette, who managed this year's pavilion. "The onsite and projected sales numbers are estimated to be about $2 million," says Paquette. "That's a 10 percent increase from the previous year's sales and represents the best overall return in the history of this project."

The Northern Ontario Pavilion is the culmination of year-round planning by FedNor in partnership with the NECO Community Futures Development Corporation in North Bay. Since 2001, this productive partnership has evolved out of FedNor's goal to support business growth and competitiveness, jobs, economic diversification and innovation within the agriculture and equine sectors across the North. As one of the largest and most popular commercial exhibits at The Royal, the dividends can be measured as both immediate and long term.

For Robert and Denise Martel of Meadowview Alpaca Farm in Bruce Mines, Ontario, who raise a herd of alpacas for their soft fibre hair which is transformed into clothing apparel, participating at The Royal is important to their bottom line and the economy of the local industry. "The ripple effects of this are manyfold," says Mr. Martel, who now partners with other farms in the Algoma District to grow the number of alpacas and increase the production of the luxuriant fibre. "This in turn allows us to increase our value added capabilities, which then increase employment opportunities." In seven successful appearances at the Northern Ontario Pavilion, the Martel's enjoyed their best year ever during the 10-day fair last November. "We increased our sales by more than 30% compared with the previous year," boasts Mr. Martel.

Buying the bare necessities at The Royal

Photo

Karen Kerk Courtney offers a sample of one of her handcrafted organic skincare products for babies and adults to a visitor at the 2014 Royal Winter Fair in Toronto. Bare Organics from the Thunder Bay area was one of many Northern Ontario businesses and organizations represented in the Northern Ontario Pavilion, a major attraction at The Royal. Canada's premier indoor agricultural fair attracted more than 320,000 people last November.

Exhibitors, several of whom were making their debut at the fair, represented all corners of Northern Ontario, marketing a large diversity of products in an attractive and expanded 7,000-square-foot exhibit space. Karen Kerk Courtney, owner of Bare Organics, manufactures and retails handcrafted organic skincare products for babies and adults from her operations in Thunder Bay. She has witnessed first-hand the growth and outreach of her business through personal contacts while at The Royal. "I met a customer that has been an online shopper for seven years, so it was great to meet her in person," says Ms. Kerk Courtney. "Customers in the GTA are making it a habit to come to The Royal to see us and pick up orders."

Wild rice, bison meat, maple and birch syrup, smoked trout and whitefish, whole wheat flour, honey and jams were just some of the many unique and interesting products that were market-ready and professionally displayed by Northern vendors at the pavilion. What also captured the attention of many fair-goers was the integration of an emerging sector of agricultural-related products from Northern Ontario: beer, wine and spirits. Five craft breweries, a vodka distiller and a winery participated at the pavilion and there were plenty of taste samplings and product sales during the fair. For Dwayne Wanner, the owner of Highlander Brew Company in South River, the exposure was invaluable. "We were able to introduce the product to several hundred people," he said. "We sold about 100 litres of beer in the bar and gave tastings to several hundred people at the LCBO store on site." Another craft brewer from Kenora and Rheault Distillery of Hearst, which introduced its award-winning vodka at The Royal the previous year, sold out of their stock in the LCBO kiosk during the fair.

In the glow of this record performance by a number of exhibitors at the Northern Ontario Pavilion, preparations will soon be underway for the 2015 showcase at the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair in Toronto next November - a showcase that is sure to continue to provide an excellent opportunity to bring Northern and Southern Ontario closer together through increased awareness of agriculture's importance to our economies, along with the prospects of new markets, new investment and new jobs.

Date modified:

Le Nord de l’Ontario à la Foire royale : Les meilleurs exposants

Vous trouverez suffisamment de fibre à la Foire royale d’hiver de l’agriculture

Photo

Robert Martel de la Meadowview Apalca Farm à Bruce Mines, en Ontario, vend un autre paquet de fibres d’alpaca à un visiteur de la Foire royale d’hiver de l’agriculture, à Toronto. Les Martel ont connu leur meilleure année de ventes de vêtements et de produits en fibres d’alpaca au Pavillon du Nord de l’Ontario, aux côtés de plus de 50 autres entreprises et organisations du Nord durant la foire de dix jours, en novembre dernier.

Tout y a contribué : Le Pavillon du Nord de l'Ontario n'a jamais eu autant de succès à la plus grande foire intérieure annuelle au monde qu'à Toronto en 2014. Avec un nombre record de 57 exposants présentant et vendant leurs uniques produits du Nord à des milliers de visiteurs à la Foire royale d'hiver de l'agriculture, les résultats étaient tout autant impressionnants, selon Guy Paquette, agent des initiatives de FedNor, qui gérait le pavillon de cette année. « Les chiffres de ventes prévus et ceux recueillis sur place sont estimés être environ deux millions de dollars, dit Paquette. Cela représente une augmentation de dix pourcent par rapport aux ventes de l'année passée et le meilleur rendement global depuis la création de ce projet. »

Le Pavillon du Nord de l'Ontario est le fruit d'une planification tout au long de l'année par le personnel de FedNor, en partenariat avec la Société d'aide au développement des collectivités NECO, à North Bay. Depuis 2001, ce partenariat fructueux vient appuyer l'objectif de FedNor qui est de favoriser la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises, la création d'emplois, la diversification économique et l'innovation dans les secteurs agricole et équin dans le Nord. Le Pavillon du Nord de l'Ontario est l'un des plus grands et des plus populaires groupes d'exposants commerciaux à la Foire royale. Il offre aux exposants des avantages à la fois immédiats et à long terme.

Pour Robert et Denise Martel de Meadowview Alpaca Farm, à Bruce Mines (Ontario), qui font l'élevage d'alpacas pour leur fibre soyeuse servant à la fabrication de vêtements, la participation à la Foire royale est une nécessité et est essentielle à l'économie de l'industrie locale. « Les effets qui en dérivent sont nombreux, dit M. Martel, qui a établi des partenariats avec d'autres fermes du district d'Algoma pour hausser le nombre d'alpacas et stimuler la production de cette fibre luxuriante. » Cela nous permet ainsi d'augmenter nos capacités à valeur ajoutée, ce qui ensuite multiplie les possibilités d'emploi. » Des sept participations réussies au Pavillon du Nord de l'Ontario, les Martel ont connu leur meilleure année durant les dix jours de la foire en novembre dernier. « Nos chiffres de ventes sont montés de plus de 30 pourcent par rapport à l'année précédente », dit fièrement M. Martel.

Vous pouvez également trouver le nécessaire pour vous soigner la peau à la Foire royale

Photo

Karen Kerk Courtney offre un échantillon de l'un de ses produits artisanaux pour les soins de la peau pour bébés et adultes à un visiteur de la Foire royale d'hiver de l'agriculture de 2014 à Toronto. L'entreprise Bare Organics de la région de Thunder Bay était l'une des nombreuses entreprises et organisations du Nord de l'Ontario représentées au Pavillon du Nord de l'Ontario, une attraction importante de la Foire. La plus grande foire agricole en salle au Canada a attiré plus de 320 000 personnes en novembre dernier.

Les exposants, dont plusieurs ont fait leur début à la foire, représentaient tous les coins du Nord de l'Ontario, commercialisant une grande diversité de produits dans un bel et grand espace d'exposition de 7 000 pieds carrés. Karen Kerk Courtney, propriétaire de Bare Organics, fabrique et vend au détail des produits artisanaux pour les soins de la peau pour bébés et adultes, à partir de chez elle à Thunder Bay. Elle a observé personnellement combien son entreprise a pris de l'expansion et s'est mieux fait connaître grâce aux contacts personnels nés lors de la Foire. « J'ai rencontré une personne qui était une cliente en ligne depuis sept ans, c'était très sympa de la rencontrer en personne, dit Mme Kerk Courtney. Les clients de la région du grand Toronto ont pris l'habitude de profiter de la Foire royale pour venir nous voir et prendre leurs commandes. »

Du riz sauvage, de la viande de bison, du sirop d'érable et de bouleau, de la truite et du poisson blanc fumé, de la farine de blé entier, du miel et des confitures :ce ne sont que quelques-uns des nombreux produits novateurs et intéressants prêts à la vente et présentés de façon professionnelle par les vendeurs du Nord au Pavillon. Un autre aspect qui a attiré l'attention de nombreux visiteurs : l'intégration d'un secteur émergeant des produits liés à l'agriculture du Nord de l'Ontario : bière, vin et spiritueux. Cinq brasseries artisanales, une distillerie de vodka et une vinerie ont participé au Pavillon : de nombreuses dégustations et ventes ont pris place durant la foire. Pour Dwayne Wanner, propriétaire de Highlander Brew Company à South River, les retombées de sa présence sur place étaient inégalables. « Nous avons pu présenter le produit à plusieurs centaines de personnes, a-t-il dit. Nous avons vendu environ 100 litres de bière au bar et offert des dégustations à plusieurs centaines de personnes au kiosque du magasin LCBO. » Un autre brasseur artisanal de Kenora, et Rheault Distillery de Hearst, qui avait présenté sa vodka primée à la Foire royale l'année passée, ont vendu tout leur stock au kiosque du LCBO durant la foire.

À la lueur du rendement record des exposants au Pavillon du Nord de l'Ontario, le travail va bientôt commencer pour préparer la Foire royale d'hiver de l'agriculture qui aura lieu à Toronto en novembre 2015 – une exposition qui continue d'offrir une excellente occasion de rapprocher davantage le Nord et le Sud de l'Ontario grâce à une sensibilisation accrue à l'importance de l'agriculture pour nos économies, et aux possibilités de nouveaux marchés, de nouveaux investissements et de nouveaux emplois.

Date de modification :