Showcasing Northern Ontario’s mining expertise to the world

Northern Survey Supply Unveil New Innovative Product

Photo

Innovation is on display as Marty Warkentin, Owner from Northern Survey Supply, highlights the features of its new miner operated survey system to prospective clients at PDAC 2016. With operations in Mattawa and Sudbury, Northern Survey Supply is a distributor of surveying products for mining and measurement systems.

Mining-related companies from across Northern Ontario are reporting increased sales and exports, with many signing new business deals, thanks to their participation at one of the world's premier international mining events.

As a world-leader in mining excellence, it's no secret Northern Ontario has much to offer in terms of resources and expertise. But an important part of business success is getting exposure.

Recently, a contingent of mining-related businesses and organizations from the region were front and centre, showcasing their offerings to international visitors and clientele at the 2016 Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) International Convention and Trade Show, held March 6 to 9, 2016, in Toronto.

Spanning over 7,800 square feet, the FedNor-supported Northern Ontario Mining Showcase was the largest pavilion at PDAC, providing 72 businesses and organizations from our region's mining supply and services sectors with an opportunity to highlight their products and services to a global audience, while exploring new markets, increasing exports and establishing key contacts.

FedNor provided $380,000 to the City of Temiskaming Shores to establish and coordinate the 2016 pavilion, and James Franks, Economic Development Officer for the City and Chair of the Northern Ontario Mining Showcase Steering Committee, says the pavilion had its best year yet.

"Once again, the FedNor pavilion was a huge success, attracting dignitaries from all levels of government, as well as industry leaders, stakeholders and representatives from over 100 countries," he says. "With more than 22,000 visitors attending PDAC, the Northern Ontario Mining Showcase is helping to promote the area's mining potential, while assisting businesses in their efforts to expand their operations, increase trade and create high-quality jobs. The pavilion is becoming recognized as a 'must visit' at the convention."

Robert Frenette, President of TBT Engineering, headquartered in Thunder Bay, agrees. "Our PDAC 2016 delegation made many valuable connections over the course of the four days in the Northern Ontario Mining Showcase," he says. "Our presence at the pavilion, along with other exhibitors from the region, is helping to further relationships and bringing increased development to Northern Ontario."

Northern Ontario in the Spotlight

Photo

More than 70 businesses representing Northern Ontario's mining industry took part in the FedNor-funded Northern Ontario Mining Showcase, one of the largest pavilions at the Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) convention. PDAC, one of the world's leading mineral exploration conference and trade shows, ran from March 6-9, 2016, featuring approximately 22,000 attendees from over 100 countries.

The experience was also a positive one for Temiskaming Industrial Mining Equipment Limited, or TIME Limited, a manufacturer and global distributor of consumable products to the mining, drilling and industrial sectors. "Since the show, we have received requests for manufacturing and supply into such places as New Brunswick, Saskatchewan, Finland, and the USA," says Tate Byberg, Vice-President of sales and marketing. "I can't say enough about how well the pavilion was structured and organized. The traffic that we encountered was fantastic and these requests were generated from meetings and discussions thanks to our presence as part of the Northern Ontario Mining Showcase."

Early results from last year's pavilion, which featured 50 businesses and organizations, indicated job creation/maintenance of over 175 positions in Northern Ontario and increased sales and exports worth more than $3.2 million.

Based on this year's enhanced presence and the positive feedback being received, it's clear exhibitors will see continuing and significant results for years to come.

Date modified:

Présenter l’expertise en exploitation minière du Nord de l’Ontario au reste du monde

Northern Survey Supply dévoile un nouveau produit novateur

Photo

Marty Warkentin, propriétaire de Northern Survey Supply, met l’innovation à l’honneur en présentant son nouveau système de levés miniers commandé par le mineur à des clients potentiels à l’occasion du Congrès de l’(ACPE 2016. Présente à Mattawa et Sudbury, l’entreprise Northern Survey Supply est un distributeur de produits d’arpentage pour les systèmes d’exploitation minière et de mesure.

Les entreprises du secteur minier dans l'ensemble du Nord de l'Ontario signalent une augmentation des ventes et des exportations à la suite de la signature de nombreux accords commerciaux, grâce à leur participation à l'un des principaux événements internationaux du secteur minier dans le monde.

Ce n'est un secret pour personne que le Nord de l'Ontario à titre de chef de file mondial en matière d'excellence en exploitation minière a beaucoup à offrir sur le plan des ressources et de l'expertise. Toutefois, la réussite des entreprises repose largement sur la visibilité.

Récemment, un groupe d'entreprises et d'organisation du secteur minier de la région ont été à l'avant-scène, présentant leurs produits et leurs services à des visiteurs et des clients internationaux aux congrès et salon commercial internationaux 2016 de l'Association canadienne des prospecteurs et entrepreneurs (ACPE), qui a eu lieu du 6 au 9 mars 2016 à Toronto.

D'une superficie de 7 800 pieds carrés, le Salon minier du Nord de l'Ontario, financé par FedNor, représentait le plus grand pavillon du Congrès de l'ACPE; il a offert à 72 entreprises et organisations des secteurs de l'approvisionnement et des services de l'industrie minière de notre région la possibilité de présenter leurs produits et leurs services à un auditoire mondial, en plus de leur permettre d'explorer de nouveaux marchés, d'augmenter les exportations et de nouer des relations importantes.

FedNor a alloué 380 000 dollars à la Ville de Temiskaming Shores pour établir et coordonner le pavillon de 2016, et James Franks, agent de développement économique pour la Ville et président du comité directeur du Salon minier du Nord de l'Ontario, a indiqué que le pavillon a connu sa meilleure année.

« Cette année encore, le pavillon de FedNor a connu un vif succès : il a attiré des dignitaires de tous les ordres de gouvernement, ainsi que des dirigeants de l'industrie, des intervenants et des représentants de plus de 100 pays, a déclaré James Franks. Avec une affluence dépassant 22 000 visiteurs au Congrès de l'ACPE, le Salon minier du Nord de l'Ontario contribue à promouvoir le potentiel de la région dans le domaine de l'exploitation minière, tout en aidant les entreprises à développer leurs activités, à augmenter le commerce et à créer des emplois de grande qualité. Le pavillon est maintenant considéré comme une visite incontournable au Congrès. »

Robert Frenette, président de TBT Engineering, dont le siège social est à Thunder Bay, abonde dans le même sens. « Notre délégation au Congrès 2016 de l'ACPE a noué de nombreuses relations pertinentes pendant les quatre jours du Salon minier du Nord de l'Ontario, a-t-il dit. Notre présence au pavillon, aux côtés d'autres exposants de la région, permet de renforcer les relations et d'attirer plus de projets de développement dans le Nord de l'Ontario. »

Le Nord de l’Ontario en vedette

Photo

Plus de 70 entreprises représentant l’industrie minière du Nord de l’Ontario ont participé au Salon minier du Nord de l’Ontario financé par FedNor, l’un des plus grands pavillons au Congrès de l’Association canadienne des prospecteurs et entrepreneurs (ACPE). Le Congrès de l’ACPE, qui est l’un des principaux salons professionnels et conférences du secteur de l’exploration minière dans le monde, s’est tenu du 6 au 9 mars 2016 et a accueilli quelque 22 000 participants venant de plus de 100 pays.

L'expérience fut également positive pour Temiskaming Industrial Mining Equipment Limited (TIME Limited), un fabricant et un distributeur mondial de produits consomptibles pour les secteurs minier et industriel et celui du forage. « Depuis le salon, nous avons reçu des demandes de fabrication et d'approvisionnement provenant de lieux comme le Nouveau-Brunswick, la Saskatchewan, la Finlande et les États-Unis, a déclaré Tate Byberg, vice-président des ventes et du marketing. Je ne saurais trop insister sur l'excellence de la structure et de l'organisation du pavillon. L'achalandage que nous avons connu a été fantastique, et ces demandes ont découlé de réunions et de discussions rendues possibles par notre présence au Salon minier du Nord de l'Ontario. »

D'après les premiers résultats relatifs au pavillon l'an dernier, qui abritait 50 entreprises et organisations, plus de 175 postes ont été créés ou maintenus dans le Nord de l'Ontario, et les ventes et les exportations ont augmenté de plus de 3,2 millions de dollars.

Compte tenu de l'amélioration de la présence cette année et des commentaires positifs qui ont été reçus, il est clair que les exposants verront des résultats constants et importants pendant de nombreuses années.

Date de modification :