Just what the doctor ordered

A healthier Northern Ontario

Photo

Students at the Northern Ontario School of Medicine are applying what they learn in the classroom in communities across the North.

Ten years after the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) opened its doors, a clear picture is emerging of the tremendous impact the institution is having on the region.

Today, with more than 1,300 faculty members teaching learners across the North, NOSM contributes up to $82 million of new economic activity per year in Northern Ontario. And, since the inaugural class walked through the school's doors, 149 NOSM-educated doctors now practice in the region, which translates to care for more than 178,000 more Northern Ontarians.

Communities like Kenora, for example, are seeing significant benefits from the creation of Northern Ontario's own medical school.

"The Northern Ontario School of Medicine has been a critical success to our community and hospital," says Mark Balcaen, President and CEO of the Lake of the Woods District Hospital. "During the past 10 years, seven NOSM medical students have come from Kenora and six NOSM-trained physicians have begun practising in Kenora upon completion of their residency. We look forward to continuing our partnership with NOSM."

According to Dr. Roger Strasser, NOSM Dean, 94 percent of graduates who have completed both their MD and their residency with NOSM are now practising in Northern Ontario.

"NOSM is contributing to a healthier Northern Ontario from several perspectives," says Strasser. "Of course, our main priority is to train and retain our best and brightest to ensure residents of Northern Ontario have access to quality care right here at home."

"The school is also quite proud of the important research being undertaken with a specific focus on the health needs of the peoples and communities of Northern Ontario, as well as the positive social and economic impacts the school is having in communities across the region."

While NOSM is now celebrating its 10th anniversary, the prospect of having a medical school in Northern Ontario was thought by many to be a longshot when it was first discussed by local stakeholders many years ago. It was at that time that FedNor stepped in to fund a feasibility study that helped make a strong case for the school, leading to the birth of NOSM. When it was time for the bricks and mortar, FedNor invested $6 million for state-of-the-art research labs, helping to make the Northern Ontario School of Medicine a reality.

Today, NOSM says the school's campus is all of Northern Ontario. In fact, students live and learn in more than 90 communities across the region, including Indigenous, Francophone, rural, and remote communities.

"Our learners become part of the fabric of these communities, volunteering and joining local sports teams, for example, and in turn, these communities become their classroom," says Strasser. "This approach supports our efforts to ensure that NOSM is educating health professionals that know and understand the social, cultural, linguistic, and geographic diversity of Northern Ontario."

NOSM's research focuses on questions of importance for the health and communities in the region, including chronic disease, mental health, environmental health factors, and much more. To ensure an accurate picture of local health needs, this research is taking place in laboratories, hospitals and clinics in communities across Northern Ontario. This too ensures that the questions of importance for Northern Ontarians and their health are at the heart of the school's research program.

So what's in the plans for NOSM's future?

"We remain focused on advancing our education and research mandates, our commitment to being a socially accountable organization, and our work with our communities, partners, and other collaborators to address the health care needs of Northern Ontario," says Strasser. "Our plan moving forward, Reaching Beyond Extraordinary Together - NOSM's Strategic Plan 2015-2020, is truly a collective vision for the school that could not have been accomplished without the ideas, guidance, and collaboration of individuals and organizations across NOSM's wider campus of Northern Ontario."

Date modified:

Le remède idéal

Meilleure santé dans le Nord de l’Ontario

Photo

Les étudiants à l’École de médecine du Nord de l’Ontario mettent en pratique ce qu’ils apprennent en classe dans les collectivités partout dans le Nord.

Dix ans après l'ouverture de l'École de médecine du Nord de l'Ontario (EMNO), on voit clairement l'énorme incidence qu'a cet établissement dans la région.

Aujourd'hui, avec plus de 1 300 membres du corps enseignant formant les apprenants à l'échelle du Nord, l'EMNO contribue à hauteur de 82 millions de dollars à une activité économique nouvelle chaque année dans le Nord de l'Ontario. En outre, depuis que la première classe a franchi les portes de l'école, 149 médecins qui y ont été formés pratiquent maintenant dans la région, si bien que des soins sont fournis à plus 178 000 Ontariens du Nord.

Les collectivités telles que Kenora, par exemple, tirent d'importants avantages de la création d'une école de médecine propre au Nord de l'Ontario.

« L'École de médecine du Nord de l'Ontario est un succès pour notre collectivité et notre hôpital, dit M. Mark Balcaen, président et premier dirigeant de l'Hôpital du district du lac des Bois. Au cours des 10 dernières années, 7 étudiants en médecine de l'EMNO sont venus à Kenora et 6 médecins formés à l'EMNO ont commencé à pratiquer à Kenora après leur formation en résidence. »

Selon le Dr Roger Strasser, doyen de l'EMNO, 94 pour 100 des diplômés qui ont terminé leur formation en médecine et leur formation en résidence pratiquent maintenant dans le Nord de l'Ontario.

« L'EMNO favorise une meilleure santé dans le Nord de l'Ontario sous plusieurs aspects, dit M. Strasser.  Notre priorité, cela va de soi, est de former et de conserver en poste les meilleures personnes et les plus intelligentes pour faire en sorte que les résidents du Nord de l'Ontario aient accès à des soins de qualité chez eux.

L'école est aussi très fière de l'importante recherche qui y est menée et qui est surtout axée sur les besoins en matière de santé des personnes et des collectivités du Nord de l'Ontario, de même que de l'incidence sociale et économique positive que l'école a sur les collectivités de l'ensemble de la région. »

L'EMNO célèbre son 10e anniversaire, mais de nombreuses personnes doutaient de la possibilité de se doter d'une école de médecine dans le Nord de l'Ontario lorsque les intéressés ont commencé à en discuter il y a plusieurs années. C'est à cette époque que FedNor est intervenu pour financer une étude de faisabilité qui a grandement aidé à prouver la faisabilité d'une école, ce qui a ensuite engendré la création de l'EMNO. Au moment de soulever la première pelletée de terre, FedNor a investi 6 millions de dollars pour des laboratoires de recherche de fine pointe, ce qui a aidé à faire de l'École de médecine du Nord de l'Ontario une réalité.

Aujourd'hui, l'EMNO dit que tout le Nord de l'Ontario est son campus. De fait, les étudiants demeurent et apprennent dans plus de  90 collectivités dans toute la région, y compris des collectivités autochtones, francophones, rurales et éloignées.

« Les apprenants font partie du tissu de ces collectivités, faisant du bénévolat et participant aux équipes sportives locales, par exemple, et, par ricochet, ces collectivités deviennent leur salle de classe, dit M. Strasser. Cette approche étaie nos efforts pour faire en sorte que l'EMNO forme des professionnels de la santé qui connaissent et comprennent la diversité sociale, culturelle, linguistique et géographique du Nord de l'Ontario. »

La recherche à l'EMNO est axée sur les questions importantes pour la santé et les collectivités dans la région, y compris en ce qui concerne les maladies chroniques, la santé mentale, les facteurs environnementaux liés à la santé et beaucoup plus encore. Pour dresser un portrait fiable quant aux besoins locaux en matière de santé, cette recherche est menée dans des laboratoires, dans des hôpitaux et dans des cliniques partout dans le Nord de l'Ontario, ce qui fait aussi en sorte que les questions importantes pour les Ontariens du Nord et leur santé sont au cœur du programme de recherche de l'école.

Alors, quels sont les plans pour l'avenir de l'EMNO?

« Nous continuons à nous concentrer sur le renforcement de nos mandats d'enseignement et de recherche, notre engagement à demeurer une organisation redevable sur le plan social et nos travaux avec les collectivités, nos partenaires et les autres collaborateurs pour répondre aux besoins en matière de santé dans le Nord de l'Ontario, dit. M. Strasser. Notre plan pour l'avenir,  Reaching Beyond Extraordinary Together - NOSM's Strategic Plan 2015-2020 (parvenir ensemble au-delà de l'extraordinaire – plan stratégique de l'EMNO 2015-2020) constitue vraiment une vision collective pour l'école qui ne peut s'accomplir sans les idées, les conseils et la collaboration des personnes et des organisations de l'ensemble du campus de l'EMNO du Nord de l'Ontario. »

Date de modification :