Get your motor running, a tourism success story

Breathtaking views on Temiskaming Tour

Photo

This stunning vista of Devil’s Rock in Temiskaming Shores is one of many that awaits visitors to the Temiskaming Lake Tour. Photo by James Franks.

The Temiskaming Loop, a motorcycle touring route that guides riders along winding roads in the picturesque countryside of northeastern Ontario, is listed as one of the top 10 motorcycle rides in North America, according to the website, Motorcycle.com. It incorporates three different cultures as it snakes along the Ottawa River and the shores of Lake Temiskaming, passing through several small towns and First Nation communities on both sides of the Ontario/Quebec border.

Lois Weston-Bernstein, Business Manager for the Temiskaming Shores & Area Chamber of Commerce (formerly the Tri-Town and District Chamber of Commerce) credits FedNor for supporting a youth intern to kick-start the project.

“Back in 2009, there was talk about establishing a loop tour but nothing much happened until we secured FedNor funding to hire an intern who recorded the inventory of assets along the route,” recalls Weston-Bernstein. “All of the information pertaining to tourism-related activities, accommodations, businesses and attractions formed the basis of a huge database, a critical step in establishing the loop tour.”

The Chamber Business Manager notes that tourism is extremely important to the region’s communities whose economies are intertwined.

“There’s so much more to our area than rocks and trees. Tourism is an important economic pillar, along with agriculture, mining, forestry and our retail and service hub.”

The initial launch of the multi-cultural tourism product in 2010 was a collaborative effort involving 19 partner communities in the region that stretches from Earlton to Temagami. According to Weston-Bernstein, the relationships that developed over time were the icing on the cake.

“We are all working for the benefit of the region.  We sit around a table and collaborate to create the best product. Some of us only speak English and some only speak French, yet we’re building ties and learning so much about each other. We are bringing in people to tour around the lake, but we could not have done it without the cooperation and partnerships around Lake Temiskaming. The FedNor Intern’s help was instrumental in helping us get the ball rolling."

A decade later, in June 2019, the region welcomed its first international familiarization (FAM) tour to introduce members of the travel trade to the area’s attractions, some of which are part of the Lake Temiskaming Tour. Organized by Destination Northern Ontario and hosted by Northeastern Ontario Tourism, Temiskaming Shores was one of four Northern communities included in the tour.

“International visitors have already visited some of our iconic sites,” says Natalie Chartrand, Economic Development Coordinator for the City of Temiskaming Shores. “Now they’re looking for unique experiences where they can connect with nature. Northern Ontario has a tremendous opportunity because it has the products that customers want. It is just a matter of packaging the experiences for marketing. By participating in the FAM tour, we are raising our profile so that international tourists are aware of our offerings, and then, can send us people.”

Life is a Highway

Photo

The Lake Temiskaming Tour is a big draw with motorcyclists. Photo by Rob Stimpson Photography.

The FAM tour is the culmination of many years of hard work to be market-ready and to grow the region’s tourism sector. The City of Temiskaming Shores, in partnership with Destination Northern Ontario, has also promoted the Lake Temiskaming Tour at Rendez-vous Canada, the country’s signature international tourism marketplace where qualified international buyers may meet one-on-one with Canada’s tourism professionals to explore and market Canadian tourism product(s).

Building on the success of the Lake Temiskaming tour, the community partners have developed a passport contest that runs this year from May 1 to September 30. The initiative, now in its third year, encourages participants to embark on the lake tour adventure, taking in 20 stops along the way where they may get their passport stamped. Those who complete at least 12 stops are eligible for prizes. In addition to the itinerary, the passport highlights festivals, local food products and farmers’ markets to extend visitors’ stay in the region.

With the online passport, organizers can track visitors to learn more about who they are, where they come from and what they like to do. With that information, they will tweak their itinerary and/or marketing to increase visitor numbers.

This project is but one example of the types of initiatives funded by FedNor that support of the Federal Strategy on Jobs and Tourism and the Prosperity and Growth Strategy for Northern Ontario.

Date modified:

Faites rugir le moteur, une réussite touristique

Vue à couper le souffle dans le Tour du lac Témiscamingue

Photo

Ce magnifique panorama du Devil’s Rock à Temiskaming Shores est l’un des nombreux attraits du Tour du lac Témiscamingue. Photo prise par James Franks.

Selon le site Web Motorcycle.com, le Temiskaming Loop, un circuit de randonnée pour motocyclistes empruntant les routes sinueuses de la pittoresque campagne du Nord-Est de l’Ontario, figure parmi les dix plus importants circuits pour motocyclistes en Amérique du Nord. Il relie trois cultures différentes alors qu’il longe la rivière des Outaouais et les rives du lac Témiscamingue et traverse plusieurs petites villes et collectivités des Premières Nations situées de part et d’autre de la frontière entre l’Ontario et le Québec.

Lois Weston-Bernstein, directrice des opérations à la Temiskaming Shores & Area Chamber of Commerce (anciennement la Tri-Town and District Chamber of Commerce), remercie FedNor d’avoir aidé un jeune stagiaire à lancer le projet.

« En 2009, on avait envisagé d’établir un circuit en boucle, mais le projet est demeuré sur la glace jusqu’à ce que nous obtenions un financement de FedNor pour embaucher un stagiaire dont le mandat était de dresser une liste des attraits touristiques le long du circuit, se souvient Mme Weston-Bernstein. Toute l’information relative aux activités touristiques, à l’hébergement, aux entreprises concernées et aux attractions a servi à constituer l’énorme base de données qui fut un élément déterminant de l’établissement du circuit en boucle. »

La directrice des opérations de la Chambre de commerce souligne que le tourisme est une ressource extrêmement importante pour les collectivités de la région, dont les économies sont étroitement liées.

« Notre région offre beaucoup plus que des roches et des arbres. Le tourisme est un pilier économique important, tout comme l’agriculture, l’exploitation minière, la foresterie et notre carrefour de vente au détail et de services. »

Le lancement, en 2010, du produit touristique multiculturel a été le fruit d’une collaboration entre 19 collectivités partenaires de la région, qui s’étend d’Earlton à Temagami. Selon Mme Weston Bernstein, les relations qui se sont développées au fil du temps ont été la cerise sur le gâteau.

« Nous travaillons tous au profit de la région. Nous nous assoyons autour d’une table et nous collaborons pour créer le meilleur produit qui soit. Certains d’entre nous ne parlent que l’anglais ou le français, ce qui n’empêche pas de tisser des liens et d’apprendre beaucoup les uns des autres. Nous faisons venir des gens pour faire le tour du lac, ce que nous n’aurions jamais pu accomplir sans la coopération et les partenariats des intervenants autour du lac Témiscamingue. Le financement par FedNor de l’embauche d’un stagiaire a joué un rôle déterminant pour nous aider à faire avancer les choses. »

Une décennie plus tard, en juin 2019, la région accueillait sa première tournée de familiarisation internationale visant à présenter les attraits de la région aux représentants de l’industrie du tourisme, dont certains font partie du Tour du lac Témiscamingue. Organisée par Destination Northern Ontario et par Northeastern Ontario Tourism, Temiskaming Shores était l’une des quatre collectivités du Nord faisant partie du Tour.

« Les visiteurs étrangers ont déjà visité certains de nos sites emblématiques, déclare Natalie Chartrand, coordonnatrice du développement économique pour la ville de Temiskaming Shores. Ce qu’ils recherchent maintenant, c’est de vivre des expériences uniques où ils peuvent se rapprocher de la nature. Le Nord de l’Ontario recèle d’énormes possibilités parce qu’il offre aux consommateurs les produits qu’ils veulent. Notre tâche consiste simplement à présenter ces expériences aux fins de marketing. Notre participation à la tournée de familiarisation nous permet de renforcer notre visibilité afin que les touristes étrangers soient au courant de nos offres et viennent nous visiter. »

La vie est une autoroute

Photo

Le Tour du lac Témiscamingue attire de nombreux motocyclistes. Photo de Rob Stimpson Photography.

La tournée de familiarisation est le point culminant de nombreuses années de travail acharné pour pénétrer le marché et faire croître le secteur touristique de la région. La Ville de Temiskaming Shores, en partenariat avec Destination Nord Ontario, a également fait la promotion du Tour du lac Témiscamingue à Rendez-vous Canada, carrefour touristique international de premier plan au pays, où des acheteurs étrangers qualifiés peuvent rencontrer individuellement des professionnels du tourisme du Canada afin de découvrir et de promouvoir des produits touristiques canadiens.

S’appuyant sur le succès du Tour du lac Témiscamingue, les partenaires communautaires ont mis sur pied un concours de passeport, qui se déroule cette année du 1er mai au 30 septembre. Cette initiative, qui en est maintenant à sa troisième année, encourage les participants à se lancer dans l’aventure du Tour du lac et à faire 20 arrêts en cours de route afin de faire estampiller leur passeport. Les participants qui font au moins 12 arrêts sont admissibles aux prix. Le passeport met également en valeur les festivals, les produits alimentaires locaux et les marchés de producteurs dans le but de prolonger le séjour des visiteurs dans la région.

Grâce au passeport en ligne, les organisateurs peuvent suivre les visiteurs pour en apprendre davantage sur qui ils sont, d’où ils viennent et ce qu’ils aiment faire. Cette information leur permettra de modifier leur itinéraire ou leurs activités de marketing de manière à augmenter le nombre de visiteurs.

Ce projet n’est qu’un exemple du type d’initiatives financées par FedNor en appui de la Stratégie fédérale pour l’emploi et le tourisme et de la Stratégie pour la prospérité et la croissance du Nord de l’Ontario.

Date de modification :