Fortin Discovery Lab – An Innovative Talent Development Think Tank

Mentorship is key to success of Fortin Discovery Lab

Photo

Tom Fortin (right) assists Jahanzeb Sohail (left), an electrical engineer with Maestro Digital Mine, with emissions testing.

The Fortin Discovery Lab, which opened November 5, 2014, is the brainchild of Tom Fortin, founder of Ontrak Control Systems. Located in the NORCAT Innovation Mill in Sudbury, the goal of the centre is to develop entrepreneurial talent. Thanks to a FedNor contribution of $400,000, the lab features 3-D printers, as well as equipment for computer numerical controlled mold making, laser micromachining and electromagnetic compatibility certification. With its state-of-the-art tools, the Discovery Lab helps engineers and technologists transform concepts into certified products ready for export anywhere in the world.

Frustrated that so many products are being manufactured overseas, Fortin created the lab to help people acquire the skills needed to create a strong, innovative manufacturing sector here in Northern Ontario. In addition, by helping people design and produce their own products, it supports regional job and wealth creation.

“If we want to advance industry and create an innovative economy, we need to create competencies in software, electronics and sensors,” asserts Fortin. “The lab is designed to help entrepreneurs to overcome two barriers: the capital costs of equipment, as well as regulatory burdens.”

Set up with full electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) certification, the lab allows local companies to do their own testing. Fortin says the advantages are not just monetary.

“When you do your own testing, you learn about the vulnerabilities of your product,” states Fortin. “Consequently, company engineers can readily make modifications to their product, and in doing so, enhance their problem-solving skills.”

Since the lab eliminates the need for third-party safety and EMC testing that usually involves a waiting list, the process is much quicker. It also reduces the cost of entry into the marketplace for business, and expedites export and market expansion. That’s something to which Maestro Digital Mine can attest.

“Our development team does all the design work in-house and we use the Fortin Discovery Lab for testing,” explains Michael Gribbons, Co-founder and Vice President of Maestro Digital Mine. “We’re often in there daily. If we were to do in-housing testing ourselves, it would require a $200,000-$300,000 investment, which would not be feasible. Were it not for the lab, we’d be forced to move our company to southern Ontario.”

According to Gribbons, exports are 50 percent of Maestro Digital Mine’s total sales and are integral to its growth plan.

“Canadians are quite good at getting small companies off the ground but really poor at scaling them up,” says Gribbons. “Small innovative companies in Canada often never make it to the next stage; it’s foreign investors who swoop in and grow the companies. We’re learning how to do that ourselves here at the Discovery Lab.”

The Fortin Discovery Lab also helps those engineers or technologists, referred to as Independent Product Developers (IPDs), with an idea and a desire to start their own company. Through a resident agreement, qualified candidates may receive access to the facility to assist with the start-up phase of their business.

EMC certification is a key benefit of Fortin Discovery Lab

Photo

Jahanzeb Sohail, an electrical engineer with Maestro Digital Lab, carefully monitors EMC testing of a product in the final stages of development.

Michael Dolinar, Director of Technology Development for Synaptic Technologies, credits the lab with the successful launch of his software company, AdvanceWorx in 2015. A chance encounter with Tom Fortin convinced the computer scientist that entrepreneurship was a viable option, enabling him to contribute to Canada’s gross domestic product. With the support of Fortin (in particular, his mentorship and no nonsense advice), Dolinar made the leap. Dolinar has subsequently rolled AdvanceWorx into Synaptic Technologies.

“There were two big advantages with the lab,” shared Dolinar. “I was able to work with a million dollars’ worth of equipment and when clients came to call, I had this very impressive facility that inspired confidence and helped me to successfully pitch my product.”

The IPDs offer design services for individuals, corporations and research institutions on a fee-for-service basis while managing the responsibility of day-to-day operations for their particular section of the lab. The arrangement requires little overhead while developing advanced commercial products, a win-win for Northern Ontario entrepreneurs.

As of October 2019, 25 businesses and 15 entrepreneurs had taken advantage of the facilities offered at the lab to test their product prototypes and/or launch their businesses.

This project is an example of the type of initiative funded by FedNor that supports the federal Prosperity and Growth Strategy for Northern Ontario (PGSNO). Learn more about PGSNO.

Date modified:

Laboratoire de découverte Fortin – Un groupe de réflexion novateur pour le développement des talents

Le mentorat est la clé du succès au Laboratoire de découverte Fortin

Photo

Tom Fortin (à droite) aide Jahanzeb Sohail (à gauche), ingénieur en électricité chez Maestro Digital Mine, à tester les émissions.

Le Laboratoire de découverte Fortin, qui a ouvert ses portes le 5 novembre 2014, est le fruit de la vision de Tom Fortin, fondateur d’Ontrak Control Systems. Situé dans la fabrique d’innovation NORCAT à Sudbury, le centre a pour objectif de développer le talent entrepreneurial. Grâce à une contribution de 400 000 $ apportée par FedNor, le laboratoire dispose d’imprimantes 3D, ainsi que de l’équipement pour la fabrication de moules à commande numérique, pour le micro-usinage laser et pour la certification de compatibilité électromagnétique. À l’aide d’outils de pointe, le Laboratoire de découverte aide les ingénieurs et les technologues à traduire des concepts en produits certifiés prêts à être exportés partout dans le monde.

Frustré que tant de produits soient fabriqués à l’étranger, M. Fortin a créé le laboratoire afin d’aider les gens à acquérir les habiletés nécessaires pour mettre sur pied un secteur manufacturier solide et novateur dans le Nord de l’Ontario. De plus, en aidant les gens à concevoir et à produire leurs propres produits, il favorise la création d’emplois et de richesse dans la région.

« Si nous voulons faire progresser l’industrie et bâtir une économie innovante, nous devons développer des compétences en logiciels, en électronique et en capteurs », affirme M. Fortin. « Le laboratoire est conçu pour aider les entrepreneurs à surmonter deux obstacles : les coûts d’acquisition de l’équipement et le fardeau réglementaire. »

Doté d’une certification complète de compatibilité électromagnétique (CEM), le laboratoire permet aux entreprises locales d’effectuer leurs propres tests. M. Fortin assure que les avantages vont au-delà de l’aspect financier.

« Lorsque vous effectuez vos propres tests, vous en apprenez davantage sur les vulnérabilités de votre produit », explique-t-il. « Par conséquent, les ingénieurs de l’entreprise peuvent facilement apporter des modifications au produit et, ce faisant, améliorer leurs compétences en résolution de problèmes. »

Puisque le laboratoire élimine le besoin de tests de sécurité et de CEM réalisés par une tierce partie, qui s’accompagnent la plupart du temps d’une liste d’attente, le processus est beaucoup plus rapide. Le laboratoire réduit également le coût d’entrée sur le marché pour les entreprises et accélère l’expansion du marché et l’exportation. L’entreprise Maestro Digital Mine peut en témoigner.

« Notre équipe de développement fait tout le travail de conception à l’interne et nous nous servons du Laboratoire de découverte Fortin pour la mise à l’essai », explique Michael Gribbons, cofondateur et vice-président de Maestro Digital Mine. « Nous y allons presque tous les jours. Si nous devions faire des tests à l’interne, il nous faudrait investir entre 200 000 $ et 300 000 $, ce qui nous est impossible. Sans le laboratoire, nous serions obligés de déménager notre entreprise dans le Sud de l’Ontario. »

Selon M. Gribbons, les exportations représentent 50 % des ventes totales de Maestro Digital Mine et font partie intégrante de son plan de croissance.

« Les Canadiens sont doués pour lancer des petites entreprises, mais le sont considérablement moins pour les faire croître », ajoute-t-il. « La plupart du temps, les petites entreprises novatrices du Canada ne passent jamais à l’étape suivante; ce sont les investisseurs étrangers qui font appel à elles et font croître les entreprises. Ici, au Laboratoire de découverte, nous apprenons à le faire nous-mêmes. »

En outre, le Laboratoire de découverte Fortin aide les ingénieurs ou les technologues, appelés développeurs de produits indépendants (DPI), qui ont une idée et souhaitent démarrer leur propre entreprise. Grâce à une entente de résidence, les candidats qualifiés peuvent avoir accès aux installations afin de favoriser le démarrage de leur entreprise.

La certification en matière de CEM est un avantage clé du Laboratoire de découverte Fortin

Photo

Jahanzeb Sohail, ingénieur en électricité chez Maestro Digital Lab, surveille attentivement les tests de CEM sur un produit en phase finale de développement.

Michael Dolinar, directeur du développement technologique chez Synaptic Technologies, attribue au laboratoire le lancement réussi de son entreprise de logiciels, AdvanceWorx, en 2015. Une rencontre fortuite avec Tom Fortin a convaincu l’informaticien de la viabilité de l’entrepreneuriat, ce qui lui a permis de contribuer au produit intérieur brut du Canada. Avec l’appui de M. Fortin (en particulier son mentorat et ses conseils judicieux), M. Dolinar a fait le grand saut. Par la suite, il a intégré AdvanceWorx à Synaptic Technologies.

« Le laboratoire offrait deux gros avantages », confie M. Dolinar. « J’ai pu travailler avec un équipement d’une valeur d’un million de dollars et, lorsque les clients sont venus nous visiter, je pouvais leur montrer ces installations impressionnantes qui inspirent confiance et qui m’ont permis de présenter mon produit efficacement. »

Les DPI offrent des services de conception aux particuliers, aux entreprises et aux établissements de recherche selon le principe de la rémunération à l’acte tout en assumant la responsabilité des activités quotidiennes de leur section particulière au sein du laboratoire. L’entente exige peu de frais généraux au cours du développement de produits commerciaux sophistiqués, ce qui est avantageux pour tous les entrepreneurs du Nord de l’Ontario.

Au mois d’octobre 2019, 25 sociétés et 15 entrepreneurs avaient profité des installations offertes au laboratoire pour mettre à l’essai leurs prototypes de produits ou lancer leur entreprise.

Ce projet est un exemple du type d’initiatives financées par FedNor qui appuient la Stratégie pour la prospérité et la croissance du Nord de l’Ontario (SPCNO). Apprenez-en plus au sujet de la SPCNO.

Date de modification :