Sault Firm’s Innovative Digital Technology Connects Parents and Childcare Providers

Integrated Technology to Navigate Childcare System

Photo

OneHSN’s technology helps to maximize childcare access, affordability and quality for families and children. Stock photo

A Sault Ste. Marie entrepreneur has launched an innovative digital service that connects parents with childcare service providers. Using their mobile devices, parents may research options, register with service providers and apply for subsidies all through a single point of access, called Childcare Connect. In addition, the centralized digital platform enables providers to process applications, manage and prioritize waitlists while saving time and generating data analytics for various levels of government responsible for licensed daycare.

Childcare Connect is the creation of Darryl Buck and his team at One Human Service Network (OneHSN). In 2018, a repayable FedNor contribution of $588,000 in 2018 helped the small high-tech company to transform its software architecture and support growth in new markets. Prior to FedNor’s investment, the software only targeted a limited number of local, provincial and state governments. The technology not only has advantages for government, but also for childcare resource and information referral agencies, parent-teacher associations, as well as individual childcare operators.

“There are 138 million people in the US who fall into the 20-39 age bracket; 88 percent of these Millennial and Generation Z members access the Internet from their phones,” says Buck, President and CEO of OneHSN. “We needed to transform our technology to support that user base.”

OneHSN launched its new mobile responsive parent experience in the City of Greater Sudbury on December 5, 2019. By monitoring user behaviour and tracking analytics, OneHSN can evaluate the user’s experience, refine any issues and quickly publish enhancements in real time to ensure a positive user experience.

Buck says 24 of the 47 regional municipalities responsible for childcare in Ontario are OneHSN clients. Of those, the City of Greater Sudbury agreed to be the beta test site for the new technology. Following a two-week trial, OneHSN will systematically onboard the remaining 23 by March 2020, replacing their current software system with the newly enhanced and fully integrated version.

Highly skilled people are transforming the OneHSN team

Photo

OneHSN employees monitor user trends on its childcare digital platform. Photo Courtesy of OneHSN

Buck says prior to the FedNor investment, he had 14 employees. That number has grown to 19 with the addition of some highly skilled people that include programmers, a user experience designer and a platform architect.

With an eye on expansion, Buck is engaged in discussions with the Municipality of Las Vegas and the States of Minnesota and Vermont. In addition, the team has already taken the same framework and created a similar tool for social housing enabling people in a particular city, province or state to go online and research housing options. Oxford County, east of London, Ontario is already subscribing to the additional service.

“The greatest challenge to date has been advancing sales in government,” confides Buck. “Not only do they not have established policies or budgets to purchase digitized government services, we are also having to spend a great deal of time educating the market as to what we’re all about and what’s possible as far as childcare goes.”

However, Buck contends that as governments start to realize the efficiencies of an integrated service system offered via OneHSN technology, families will have equitable access to services – be they childcare or affordable housing – and streamlined administrative processes. Meanwhile for the first time, governments responsible for regulated childcare will have valuable data about parent preference trends, service gaps, and waitlists to measure true demand to support better service planning, decision-making and investments.

FedNor’s investment in this project is another example of how it is enhancing small business growth and supporting innovation through the federal Prosperity and Growth Strategy for Northern Ontario. Learn more about PGSNO.

Date modified:

La technologie numérique novatrice d’une entreprise de Sault Ste. Marie met en relation les parents et les fournisseurs de garde d’enfants

Technologie intégrée pour naviguer dans le système de garde d’enfants

Photo

La technologie de OneHSN aide à maximiser l’accès à la garde d’enfants, ainsi que l’abordabilité et la qualité de la garde d’enfants pour les familles et les enfants. Image de photothèque

Un entrepreneur de Sault Ste. Marie a lancé un service numérique novateur qui met en contact les parents avec les fournisseurs de services de garde. À l’aide de leur appareil mobile, les parents peuvent parcourir des options, s’inscrire auprès de fournisseurs de services et demander des subventions grâce à un point d’accès unique nommé Childcare Connect. De plus, la plateforme numérique centralisée permet aux fournisseurs de traiter les demandes et de gérer et de prioriser les listes d’attente tout en gagnant du temps et en générant des analyses de données pour divers ordres de gouvernement responsables des garderies agréées.

Childcare Connect est une création de Darryl Buck et de son équipe à One Human Service Network (OneHSN). En 2018, une contribution remboursable de FedNor de 588 000 $ a aidé la petite entreprise de haute technologie à transformer son architecture logicielle et à soutenir la croissance dans les nouveaux marchés. Avant l’investissement de FedNor, le logiciel ciblait seulement un nombre limité d’administrations locales, de provinces et d’États. La technologie offre non seulement des avantages aux administrations, mais également aux agences d’aiguillage vers des ressources et des renseignements sur la garde d’enfants, aux associations de parents et d’enseignants et aux exploitants de garderie individuels.

Selon M. Buck, président et PDG de OneHSN, « il y a 138 millions de personnes aux États-Unis qui se trouvent dans la tranche d’âge de 20 à 39 ans et 88 p. 100 de ces membres de la génération Y et de la génération Z utilisent Internet à partir de leur cellulaire; nous devions transformer notre technologie pour prendre en charge cette base d’utilisateurs ».

OneHSN a lancé sa nouvelle expérience compatible aux appareils mobiles pour les parents dans la ville du Grand Sudbury le 5 décembre 2019. En surveillant le comportement des utilisateurs et en faisant le suivi des analyses, OneHSN peut évaluer l’expérience de l’utilisateur, régler des problèmes et publier rapidement des améliorations en temps réel pour assurer une expérience positive pour l’utilisateur.

M. Buck dit que 24 des 47 municipalités régionales responsables de la garde d’enfant en Ontario sont des clients de OneHSN. De ces municipalités, la ville du Grand Sudbury a accepté d’être le site d’essai bêta pour la nouvelle technologie. À la suite d’une période de mise à l’essai de deux semaines, OneHSN intégrera systématiquement les 23 autres municipalités d’ici mars 2020 en remplaçant son système logiciel actuel par la version nouvellement améliorée et complètement intégrée.

M. Buck dit qu’avant l’investissement de FedNor, il avait 14 employés. Il en compte maintenant 19 après l’ajout de personnes hautement qualifiées dont des programmeurs, un concepteur d’expérience d’utilisateur et un architecte de plateforme.

Des personnes hautement qualifiées transforment l’équipe de OneHSN

Photo

Les employés de OneHSN surveillent les tendances des utilisateurs sur la plateforme numérique de garde d’enfants. Photo gracieuseté de OneHSN

Tout en gardant en tête l’expansion, Darryl Buck discute avec la municipalité de Las Vegas et les États du Minnesota et du Vermont. En plus, l’équipe a déjà créé, à partir du même cadre, un outil similaire pour les logements sociaux qui permet aux personnes dans des villes, des provinces ou des États précis de chercher des options de logement en ligne. Le comté d’Oxford, situé à l’est de London en Ontario, est déjà inscrit au service supplémentaire.

« Le défi le plus grand jusqu’à maintenant a été de faire progresser les ventes dans les administrations, confie M. Buck. Celles-ci ne disposent pas de politiques établies ni du budget pour se procurer des services numériques, mais nous devons également consacrer beaucoup de temps à l’éducation des acteurs du marché concernant notre entreprise et ce qui est possible dans le domaine de la garde d’enfants. »

Toutefois, M. Buck fait valoir qu’à mesure que les administrations commenceront à découvrir les gains d’efficience associés à un système de services intégré offert par la technologie OneHSN, les familles auront un accès équitable aux services, que ce soit des services de garde d’enfants ou des logements abordables, et à des processus administratifs simplifiés. Parallèlement, pour la première fois, les administrations responsables de la garde d’enfants réglementée auront des données précieuses sur les tendances des préférences des parents, les lacunes dans les services, et les listes d’attentes pour mesurer la demande réelle, ce qui permettra d’améliorer la planification des services, la prise de décisions et la réalisation des investissements.

L’investissement de FedNor dans ce projet est un autre exemple de la façon dont l’organisme favorise la croissance des petites entreprises et appuie l’innovation grâce à la Stratégie pour la prospérité et la croissance du Nord de l’Ontario (SPCNO). Apprenez-en plus au sujet de la SPCNO.

Date de modification :