Language selection

Search

Voyageur Aviation Lands Big Contract

Manned Airborne Surveillance and Reconnaissance Project

Photo

The Royal Canadian Airforce will use the King Air 350ER aircraft to identify potential threats to Canadian security and sovereignty, both at home and abroad. Photo Credit: Integrated Mission Systems, L3Harris Technologies.

Voyageur Aviation’s latest contract with Canada’s Department of National Defence, announced in May 2021, is a feather in the cap for the North Bay subsidiary of Chorus Aviation. General Dynamics Mission Systems–Canada and Voyageur Aviation – as Team CERTAS – were awarded the contract.

As part of the deal, Voyageur will provide in-service support and maintenance of three King Air 350ER aircraft purchased by Canada from Textron Aviation through the Foreign Military Sales program of the U.S. Government. The eight-year contract, valued at $72 million, will create or maintain up to 40 well paying aerospace jobs.

“It’s one of our largest military contracts and helps to bring defence work into Northern Ontario,” said Carl Kumpic, Vice-President of Marketing and Sales, Chorus Aviation. “It’s all part of our corporate strategy and demonstrates the capabilities of our excellent team at Voyageur.”

Under Canada’s Industrial and Technological Benefits (ITB) Policy, companies that are awarded defence procurement contracts are required to undertake business activity in Canada equal to the value of the contracts they have won.

In Northern Ontario, FedNor is actively engaged in leveraging benefits from the ITB Policy by raising awareness of the defence and security sector, and helping its stakeholders become part of the supply chain. General Dynamics regularly works with Regional Development Agencies and Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada to engage with the best of Canadian suppliers from coast to coast to coast. As part of these ongoing partnerships, FedNor was important in sharing information about Voyageur Aviation and other suppliers in Northern Ontario that have become instrumental in the Team CERTAS winning bid.  FedNor has been working with and will continue to serve as a resource for Voyageur to meet its ITB contractual obligations.

Performing Aircraft Modifications

Photo

Two Voyageur Aviation technicians in North Bay are refurbishing the interior of an aircraft. Photo Credit: Voyageur Aviation Corporation.

The aircraft, which are part of Canada’s Manned Airborne Surveillance and Reconnaissance (MAISR) project, will be used to identify potential threats to Canadian security and sovereignty, both at home and abroad. General Dynamics will bring its strength in program management and mission systems, providing maintenance of electronic surveillance and sophisticated communications equipment; Voyageur will manage aircraft maintenance, logistics, technical support and training from its base in North Bay. Maintenance operations will take place in a dedicated facility located at CFB Trenton.

“We’re a year out right now so we’re in the planning stages with General Dynamics to ensure that we will have the appropriate resources and materials available,” explained Kumpic. “The experience that Voyageur has in providing special missions support around the world was a big factor in Team CERTAS’ success.”

This latest contract comes on the heels of a three-year deal it secured with Transport Canada in April 2021 to upgrade Canada’s National Aerial Surveillance Program fleet with new surveillance equipment. Fitted with specialized sensors, the aircraft will be used to detect and prevent pollution in Canadian waters, monitor ice flow, migratory whales, amongst other things.

Based on successful In Service Support performance, this contract could be extended to a total of 23 years.

This project illustrates some of the services that FedNor offers to assist small and medium-sized enterprises in their sector to innovate, develop and expand their markets, and grow.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Un contrat de haut vol pour Voyageur Aviation

Projet de plateforme de renseignement, surveillance et reconnaissance aéroportée et pilotée

Photo

L’Aviation royale canadienne utilisera les aéronefs King Air 350ER pour repérer les menaces possibles pour la sécurité et la souveraineté du Canada, tant au pays qu’à l’étranger. Source de la photo : Systèmes intégrés de mission, L3Harris Technologies.

Le contrat récemment conclu par Voyageur Aviation avec le ministère de la Défense nationale du Canada, annoncé en mai 2021, ajoute une corde à l’arc de la filiale de Chorus Aviation de North Bay. Le contrat a été attribué à General Dynamics Mission Systems – Canada et Voyageur Aviation, qui forment ensemble Team CERTAS.

Dans le cadre de cette transaction, Voyageur assurera le soutien en service et la maintenance de trois aéronefs King Air 350ER achetés de Textron Aviation par le Canada, par l’entremise du programme de ventes de matériel militaire à l’étranger du gouvernement des États-Unis. Le contrat de huit ans, dont la valeur est évaluée à 72 millions de dollars, créera ou maintiendra jusqu’à 40 emplois bien rémunérés dans le secteur de l’aérospatiale.

« Il s’agit de l’un de nos plus gros contrats militaires, qui permet de réaliser des travaux dans le domaine de la défense dans le Nord de l’Ontario », affirme Carl Kumpic, vice-président du marketing et des ventes de Chorus Aviation. « Cela fait partie de notre stratégie d’entreprise et démontre les capacités de l’équipe exceptionnelle de Voyageur. »

La Politique des retombées industrielles et technologiques (RIT) oblige les entreprises qui se voient attribuer des contrats d’approvisionnement en matière de défense à mener des activités commerciales au Canada d’une valeur qui équivaut à celle des contrats qu’elles ont obtenus.

Dans le Nord de l’Ontario, FedNor travaille activement à tirer parti de la Politique des RIT en faisant connaître le secteur de la défense et de la sécurité et en aidant les intervenants à faire partie de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. General Dynamics collabore régulièrement avec les organismes de développement régional et Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada pour s’associer avec les meilleurs fournisseurs de partout au pays. Dans le cadre de ces partenariats continus, FedNor a joué un rôle majeur en transmettant des informations sur Voyageur Aviation et d’autres fournisseurs du Nord de l’Ontario ayant grandement contribué au succès de la soumission de Team CERTAS. FedNor travaille avec Voyageur et continuera à lui servir de ressource en ce qui concerne le respect des obligations contractuelles liées aux RIT.

Exécution de modifications d’aéronef

Photo

Deux techniciens de Voyageur Aviation de North Bay remettent à neuf l’intérieur d’un aéronef. Source de la photo : Voyageur Aviation Corporation.

Les aéronefs, qui font partie du projet de plateforme de renseignement, surveillance et reconnaissance aéroportée et pilotée (PRSRAP) du Canada, seront utilisés aux fins de repérage des menaces possibles pour la sécurité et la souveraineté du Canada, tant au pays qu’à l’étranger. En assurant la maintenance d’équipement de surveillance électronique et de matériel de communication perfectionné, General Dynamics mettra à contribution son talent en gestion de programme et en systèmes de mission. Pour sa part, Voyageur s’occupera de la maintenance des aéronefs, de la logistique, du soutien technique et de la formation à sa base de North Bay. Les opérations de maintenance auront lieu dans une installation spécialisée, à la BFC Trenton.

« Comme nous sommes présentement un an à l’avance, nous en sommes à l’étape de planification avec General Dynamics pour veiller à ce que nous disposions des ressources et du matériel appropriés », explique Carl Kumpic. « L’expérience de Voyageur en matière de soutien aux missions spéciales partout dans le monde a constitué un facteur déterminant pour le succès de Team CERTAS. »

Ce contrat s’ajoute à une entente de trois ans conclue avec Transports Canada en avril 2021 et visant à fournir du nouvel équipement de surveillance à la flotte du Programme national de surveillance aérienne du Canada. Munis de capteurs spécialisés, les aéronefs serviront, entre autres, à détecter et prévenir la pollution dans les eaux canadiennes et à surveiller l’écoulement glaciaire et la migration des baleines.

En fonction du rendement du soutien en service, ce contrat pourrait être prolongé jusqu’à un total de 23 ans.

Ce projet donne un aperçu de certains des services offerts par FedNor pour aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à innover, à se perfectionner, à élargir leurs marchés et à croître au sein de leur secteur.

Date de modification :