Prosperity and Growth Strategy for Northern Ontario

A plan for economic development, inclusiveness and success

The Prosperity and Growth Strategy for Northern Ontario (PGSNO) is designed with a regional approach to economic development in mind. As part of the PGSNO, we will specifically consider:


Consult the PGSNO overview placemat



Current Context in Canada

The Minister of lnnovation, Science and Economic Development Canada announced in April 2017, a plan to encourage innovation and attract global investment and talent to every region of the country, including Northern Ontario.

While supporting the Innovation and Skills Plan, this strategy is aligned with a range of federal and provincial government priorities including supporting a strong middle class, sustainable infrastructure, jobs and innovation, export and investment.

Building on Collaborations

At its core, the PGSNO is intended to enhance and build on the ongoing federal and provincial programs and collaborations to address the needs of Northern Ontario's communities and its residents.

Collaboration, coordination and communication are key to the success of the PGSNO. As such, FedNor will continue to work with other government departments and stakeholders to respond to the various needs of the communities throughout the region as we collectively implement the Strategy.

Date modified:

Stratégie pour la prospérité et la croissance du Nord de l'Ontario

Un plan pour le développement économique, l'inclusivité et le succès

La Stratégie pour la prospérité et la croissance du Nord de l’Ontario (SPCNO) repose sur une approche régionale en matière de développement économique. Dans le cadre de la SPCNO, nous tiendrons tout particulièrement compte des aspects suivants :


Consultez le tableau synthèse de la SPCNO



Le contexte actuel au Canada

En avril 2017, le ministre d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada annonçait un plan dans le but d’encourager l’innovation et d’attirer des investissements et des talents de partout sur la planète dans chacune des régions du pays, incluant dans le Nord de l’Ontario.

En plus de promouvoir le plan de l’innovation et des compétences, cette stratégie répondra à un éventail de priorités des gouvernements fédéral et provincial, y compris le soutien d’une classe moyenne forte, d’une infrastructure durable, des emplois et de l’innovation, des exportations, des investissements.

Misant sur les occasions de collaboration et sur les forces existantes

À la base, la SPCNO vise à améliorer et à exploiter les collaborations et les programmes fédéraux et provinciaux en cours afin de répondre aux besoins des communautés du Nord de l’Ontario et de leurs résidents.

La collaboration, la coordination et la communication sont les clés de la réussite de la SPCNO. À ce titre, FedNor continuera de collaborer avec les autres ministères du gouvernement et les intervenants afin de répondre aux différents besoins des communautés de la région alors que nous procédons tous ensemble à la mise en œuvre de la stratégie.

Date de modification :