FedNor’s Youth Internship Initiative: Mapping Success

Meredith Armstrong, Manager of Tourism and Culture for the City of Greater Sudbury

Photo - Meredith Armstrong parlayed her experience as a youth intern into a highly successful career in Northern Ontario's tourism sector.

Meredith Armstrong parlayed her experience as a youth intern into a highly successful career in Northern Ontario's tourism sector.

Since its inception 30 years ago, FedNor has played a key role in helping more than 1761 young post-secondary graduates land their crucial first job. FedNor introduced its youth internship initiative in 1997 to help curb the outflow of talented young people in Northern Ontario. Since then, the initiative has helped skilled young workers like Meredith Armstrong who, after completing the Ecotourism Management program at Fleming College in 2002, secured employment in her field as Coordinator of Partners in Eco-Adventure Tourism (PEAT), an industry-led not-for-profit organization she helped incorporate.  PEAT was a consortium of Northern Ontario operators who worked collaboratively to develop and market tourism product in the outdoors sector.

Born and raised in Stratford, Ontario, Armstrong says a job in Sudbury would never have been on her radar were it not for the FedNor Youth Initiative. Having subsequently planted roots in the Nickel City, she credits her experience with helping to advance her way into her current position as Manager of Tourism and Culture for the City of Greater Sudbury.

"I think one of the biggest benefits was that it helped me establish a strong network of contacts in Sudbury and across the region," revealed Armstrong. "I had a steering committee that provided an engaged and experienced sounding board for my ideas, as well as the freedom to kick start some things, such as the organization's incorporation, which was a fantastic experience."

In addition to helping youth launch their careers in Northern Ontario, the initiative has been invaluable in assisting private sector and community organizations find the expertise they needed by offering funding to offset eligible salary and benefit costs. Just ask Paul Beach, Geographic Information System (GIS) Program Manager with Acorn Information Solutions, a division of the Sault Ste. Marie Innovation Centre in Sault Ste. Marie.

Gerry Belanger, Geographic Information System Program Manager, Acorn Information Solutions

Photo - Gerry Belanger is a former youth intern who has advanced his way up the ladder to a managerial position with the Community Geomatics Centre where he leads a team of experts in computer mapping.

Gerry Belanger is a former youth intern who has advanced his way up the ladder to a managerial position with Acorn Information Solutions, a division of the Sault Ste. Marie Innovation Centre, where he leads a team of experts in computer mapping.

"As a not-for-profit organization, the Sault Ste. Marie Innovation Centre (and its Acorn Information Solutions) has no capital or funds in the bank to expand our organization or services," disclosed Beach. "The only way we can grow is to develop new markets, and we have done that very successfully through FedNor internships."

Originally starting with four employees, the division develops and markets a range of technology-based solutions using GIS, and is now home to 20 staff, many of whom are former interns. The centre is able to support them through the contract work the interns have generated with various partner organizations such as the Algoma Health Unit, Sault Police Services and PUC Services Inc. Other interns have accepted employment with some of the centre's clients. Beach says the centre's objective is to keep or attract talented youth here in Northern Ontario.

"Our goal is to develop computer mapping expertise in the areas of municipal, utility, health, and human services in the North, and create a team of local talent, and we're accomplishing just that," revealed Beach. "We're competing against companies in Toronto, and winning. As a result, our unit has done work in Kingston, Fort McMurray, Guelph, Toronto, and Nova Scotia, and has assisted with the G-20 and G-8 Summits, as well as US Homeland Security. We have established ourselves as leaders in the field and have the awards to substantiate that claim."

To learn more about FedNor's Youth Initiative and its other programs and services, please visit: fednor.gc.ca and follow us on Twitter @FedNor.

Date modified:

Initiative Jeunes stagiaires de FedNor : Tracer la voie du succès

Meredith Armstrong, gestionnaire du tourisme et de la culture, ville du Grand Sudbury

Photo - L'expérience que Meredith Armstrong a acquise en tant que jeune stagiaire lui a permis de mener une brillante carrière dans le secteur du tourisme du Nord de l'Ontario.

L'expérience que Meredith Armstrong a acquise en tant que jeune stagiaire lui a permis de mener une brillante carrière dans le secteur du tourisme du Nord de l'Ontario.

Depuis qu'il a été établi, il y a 30 ans, FedNor a joué un rôle clé en aidant plus de 1 761 jeunes diplômés de niveau postsecondaire à obtenir leur premier emploi, qui est si essentiel. FedNor a lancé l'initiative Jeunes stagiaires en 1997 pour freiner l'exode de jeunes personnes talentueuses du Nord de l'Ontario. Depuis, l'initiative a aidé de jeunes travailleurs qualifiés comme Meredith Armstrong qui, après avoir terminé le programme d'études en gestion écotouristique du Fleming College en 2002, a trouvé un emploi dans son domaine en tant que coordonnatrice de Partners in Eco-Adventure Tourism (PEAT), un organisme à but non lucratif dirigé par l'industrie qu'elle avait établi avec d'autres personnes. PEAT était un consortium d'exploitants d'entreprises touristiques du Nord de l'Ontario qui travaillaient ensemble pour mettre au point et commercialiser des produits touristiques dans le secteur du plein air.

Mme Armstrong, qui est née et qui a grandi à Stratford (Ontario), a dit qu'elle n'aurait jamais envisagé de travailler à Sudbury si l'initiative Jeunes stagiaires n'avait pas existé. S'étant ensuite établie dans la ville du nickel, elle croit que son expérience lui a permis de progresser jusqu'à son poste actuel de gestionnaire du tourisme et de la culture pour la ville du Grand Sudbury.

« Je pense que l'un des plus grands avantages de mon expérience est qu'elle m'a aidée à créer un solide réseau de contacts à Sudbury et dans l'ensemble de la région, a révélé Mme Armstrong. Un comité directeur formé de personnes engagées et expérimentées a formulé des commentaires sur mes idées et m'a donné la liberté d'en concrétiser quelques-unes, notamment l'établissement de l'organisme, qui s'est avéré être une expérience fantastique. »

En plus d'aider des jeunes à démarrer leur carrière dans le Nord de l'Ontario, l'initiative a été d'une valeur inestimable pour aider des organismes du secteur privé et du milieu communautaire à trouver l'expertise dont ils avaient besoin en leur offrant du financement pour compenser les coûts admissibles associés aux salaires et aux avantages sociaux. Vous n'avez qu'à le demander à Paul Beach, gestionnaire du programme lié au système d'information géographique au sein d'Acorn Information Solutions, une division du Sault Ste. Marie Innovation Centre, à Sault Ste. Marie.

Gerry Belanger, gestionnaire du programme lié au système d'information géographique, Acorn Information Solutions

Photo - Gerry Belanger est un ancien jeune stagiaire qui a gravi les échelons jusqu'à un poste de gestion au sein du Community Geomatics Centre, où il dirige une équipe d'experts en cartographie assistée par ordinateur.

Gerry Belanger est un ancien jeune stagiaire qui a gravi les échelons jusqu'à un poste de gestion au sein d' Acorn Information Solutions, une division du Sault Ste. Marie Innovation Centre où il dirige une équipe d'experts en cartographie assistée par ordinateur.

« À titre d'organisme à but non lucratif, le Sault Ste. Marie Innovation Centre (et la division Acorn Information Solution qui s'y trouve) n'a pas de fonds ni de capitaux pour assurer son expansion ou celle de ses services, a affirmé M. Beach. La seule façon dont nous pouvons prendre de l'expansion est de développer de nouveaux marchés, ce que nous avons fait avec beaucoup de succès grâce aux stages de FedNor. »

La division, qui comptait initialement quatre employés, met au point et commercialise un ensemble de solutions technologiques au moyen du système d'information géographique. Il compte maintenant 20 employés, dont plusieurs sont d'anciens stagiaires. Le centre peut les soutenir grâce au travail contractuel que les stagiaires ont généré avec divers organismes partenaires, comme le centre de santé d'Algoma, les services policiers de Sault et l'entreprise PUC Services Inc. D'autres stagiaires ont accepté des emplois offerts par des clients du centre. M. Beach a affirmé que l'objectif du centre était de maintenir ou d'attirer des jeunes talentueux dans le Nord de l'Ontario.

« Notre but est de développer une expertise en cartographie assistée par ordinateur dans les secteurs des services municipaux, publics, sociaux et de la santé dans le Nord ainsi que de créer une équipe formée de personnes talentueuses de la région, et c'est ce que nous faisons, a révélé M. Beach. Nous sommes en concurrence avec des entreprises situées à Toronto et nous gagnons. Ainsi, nous avons effectué des travaux à Kingston, à Fort McMurray, à Guelph, à Toronto et en Nouvelle Écosse, contribué aux sommets du G-20 et du G-8 et prêté main-forte à la Sécurité intérieure des États Unis. Nous sommes devenus un chef de file dans le domaine, et les prix que nous avons gagnés corroborent cette affirmation. »

Pour en savoir plus sur l'initiative Jeunes stagiaires de FedNor et nos autres programmes et services, consultez notre site Web (fednor.gc.ca) ou suivez-nous sur Twitter (@FedNor).

Date de modification :