Waubetek Business Development Corporation: Promoting tourism on Manitoulin Island

Warm Welcome at Manitoulin Hotel and Conference Centre

Photo

Inspired by the First Nations people of Manitoulin Island, the hotel lobby is a contemporary design that incorporates wood, stone and décor that is reflective of First Nations’ traditions.

The Manitoulin Hotel and Conference Centre has been welcoming visitors since first opening its doors in the town of Little Current in 2013. The 58-room facility, which houses conference rooms, a full-service restaurant featuring Aboriginal-themed dining and picturesque views of Lake Huron’s North Channel, is wholly owned and operated by First Nations people.

A loan from the Northeastern Ontario Investment Pool facilitated by Waubetek Business Development Corporation helped secure commercial financing for the $12.5 million construction project. Since the pool was established in 2001, the investment pool partners have financed 202 deals with a combined value of $91,540,257, leveraging more than $288,719,694 from other sources. As of July 2018, these investments have supported the creation of 1,729 new jobs and the maintenance of 4,924 jobs.

Waubetek, an Aboriginal-owned and controlled organization that services First Nations and Aboriginal entrepreneurs in Northeastern Ontario, is one of 24 Northern Ontario Community Futures Development Corporations (CFDC), funded by FedNor. Waubetek offers free business advice and workshops, as well as commercial financing to entrepreneurs and those looking to start a business in its catchment area.

“Our role was to bring the First Nation partners together to develop the project,” explained Dawn Madahbee Leach, General Manager of Waubetek Business Development Corporation, “and to ensure that a viable business model was in place with a business plan developed by industry experts, and solid community support. This initiative was significant because it represented a First Nations project that would benefit the whole regional economy.”

The only full-service premium provider on the island, the hotel enjoys an occupancy rate of 95% during the summer months with a year round rate of 55%. During the peak season, it employs 55 full and part-time employees, 80% of whom are First Nations people.

A Cultural Experience

Photo

The blending of First Nations’ culture with hotel amenities is helping to create a memorable and educational experience for guests.

“There is a genuine pride of ownership here,” revealed Corey Stacinski, General Manager of the Manitoulin Hotel and Conference Centre. “Our First Nation partners are embracing tourism as a means to share their story; they want visitors to take home some traditional knowledge. We also do our part by introducing hotel guests to Indigenous art by displaying their works throughout our facility.”

Stacinski says marketing initiatives in 2017, also funded by Waubetek, have helped boost the hotel’s occupancy rate, doubling restaurant revenue and adding up to an additional 1000 room nights a year over the previous year.

Al MacNevin, Mayor of the Municipality of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands, also attested to the hotel’s positive impact on the regional economy.

“This facility can accommodate bus tours, bring more folks to the island and as a result, community event organizations and others in the accommodations business are benefitting from increased traffic to the region,” revealed MacNevin. “Furthermore, First Nations on the island and the North Shore can keep business in town.”

To find out more about realizing your business dream, contact Waubetek Business Development Corporation at 705-285-4175 or your local Community Futures Development Corporation.

Date modified:

Waubetek Business Development Corporation : Promotion du tourisme sur l’île Manitoulin

Accueil chaleureux chez Manitoulin Hotel and Conference Centre

Photo

Inspiré par les membres des Premières Nations de l’île Manitoulin, le hall de l'hôtel a un style contemporain qui intègre le bois, la pierre et un décor qui tient compte des traditions des Premières Nations.

Manitoulin Hotel and Conference Centre accueille des visiteurs depuis qu’il a ouvert ses portes dans la ville de Little Current en 2013. L’établissement de 58 chambres, qui comprend des salles de conférence, un restaurant à service complet offrant des mets autochtones et des vues pittoresques du chenal du Nord du lac Huron, est détenu et exploité en totalité par des membres des Premières Nations.

Un prêt du consortium d’investissement du Nord-Est de l’Ontario facilité par la Waubetek Business Development Corporation a permis d’obtenir un financement commercial pour le projet de construction de 12,5 millions de dollars. Depuis la création du consortium d’investissement en 2001, les partenaires de celui-ci ont financé 202 transactions totalisant 91 540 257 $ et ont permis d’obtenir plus de 288 719 694 $ d’autres sources. En date de juillet 2018, ces investissements ont appuyé la création de 1 729 nouveaux emplois et le maintien de 4 924 emplois.

Waubetek, une organisation détenue et contrôlée par des Autochtones qui offre des services aux Premières Nations et aux entrepreneurs autochtones dans le Nord-Est de l’Ontario, est l’une des 24 Sociétés d’aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) du Nord de l’Ontario financées par FedNor. Waubetek offre gratuitement des conseils et des ateliers en matière d’affaires et apporte un financement commercial aux entrepreneurs et à toute personne souhaitant créer une entreprise dans la région qu’elle dessert.

« Notre rôle consistait à réunir les partenaires des Premières Nations pour développer le projet », explique Dawn Madahbee Leach, directrice générale de la Waubetek Business Development Corporation, « et de veiller à ce qu’un modèle d’affaires viable soit en place, qu’un plan d’activités soit élaboré par des experts de l’industrie, et que la communauté fournisse un appui solide. Cette initiative était importante, car elle représentait un projet des Premières Nations qui profiterait à l’ensemble de l’économie régionale. »

Comme il est le seul fournisseur de services complets de qualité supérieure sur l’île, le taux d’occupation de l’hôtel est de 95 % durant les mois d’été et de 55 % à l’année. Pendant la saison de pointe, l’hôtel compte 55 employés à temps plein et à temps partiel, dont 80 % sont des membres des Premières Nations.

« Il y a un véritable sentiment de fierté », révèle Corey Stacinski, directeur général de Manitoulin Hotel and Conference Centre. « Nos partenaires des Premières Nations appuient le tourisme en tant que moyen pour faire connaître leur histoire; ils veulent que les visiteurs acquièrent des connaissances traditionnelles. Nous contribuons également en faisant découvrir l’art autochtone aux clients de l’hôtel, en leur présentant des œuvres dans tout l’établissement. »

Une expérience culturelle

Photo

Le mélange de la culture des Premières Nations et des commodités offertes par l’hôtel contribue à créer une expérience mémorable et instructive pour les clients.

M. Stacinski souligne que des initiatives de marketing réalisées en 2017, également financées par Waubetek, ont contribué à augmenter le taux d’occupation de l’hôtel, à doubler le chiffre d’affaires du restaurant et à offrir jusqu’à 1 000 nuitées supplémentaires comparativement à l’année précédente.

Al MacNevin, maire de la municipalité de Manitoulin du Nord-est et les Îles, a également confirmé les retombées positives de l’hôtel sur l’économie de la région.

« L’établissement peut accueillir des groupes voyageant en autocar, attirant plus de gens sur l'île et par conséquent, les organismes responsables d’événements communautaires et d’autres entreprises du secteur de l’hébergement profitent d’une augmentation du nombre de visiteurs dans la région, indique M. MacNevin. De plus, les Premières Nations de l’île et de North Shore peuvent maintenir les entreprises en ville. »

Pour en savoir davantage sur la façon de réaliser votre rêve d’entreprise, communiquez avec la Waubetek Business Development Corporation, au 705-285-4175, ou avec la Société d’aide au développement des collectivités de votre région.

Date de modification :