Language selection

Search

FedNor Focus

Your Partner in Northern Ontario

As the Government of Canada’s economic development organization for Northern Ontario, FedNor invests in strategic initiatives led by businesses, communities and organizations, and works with a variety of stakeholders to create good jobs and more prosperous and innovative future in Northern Ontario.

In this Update, you’ll see what we’ve been up to recently and learn how FedNor investments are supporting projects that are making a real impact in the lives of the residents of Northern Ontario.

Visit our main page to learn how FedNor can support your project!

FedNor Focus – March 2021

What’s New

New funding for COVID-19 relief program

In response to overwhelming demand, an additional $22.3 million was announced this fall for FedNor through the Regional Relief and Recover Fund (RRRF). With an an initial investment of $49.5 million back in May 2020, this brings total RRRF funding for Northern Ontario to $71.8 million.

The RRRF is a special relief fund established by the Government of Canada to support businesses and organizations economically impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, including the hard-hit tourism sector.

Administered by FedNor in Northern Ontario in collaboration with partner Community Futures Development Corporations, the fund has been a lifeline for more than 700 businesses and organizations, ensuring recipients are prepared to play a meaningful role in our economic recovery following the pandemic.

Funding is still available, so apply now!

Black Entrepreneurship Program

On November 23, 2020, the Government of Canada announced the opening of applications for the Black Entrepreneurship Program’s National Ecosystem Fund and Knowledge Hub, recognizing that Black business owners and entrepreneurs make invaluable contributions to communities across the country.

Through these two initiatives, the federal government will invest in Black-led organizations to help them develop or expand services such as mentorship, networking, financial planning, and business training for Black entrepreneurs. In addition, support will be provided to help Black-led not-for-profit business organizations and educational institutions identify critical gaps, barriers to success, and opportunities for growth for Black entrepreneurs in Canada.

Details around the third pillar of the Black Entrepreneurship Program, the Black Entrepreneurship Loan Fund, will be available in the near future, so look for additional news coming soon!

Recent Events

Agri-food Producers Shine at The Royal

This fall, agri-food and equine businesses from across Northern Ontario were once again the stars of the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair, but this time as part of the first-ever virtual experience, held over five days from November 10-14, 2020. FedNor was pleased to continue to support the Northern Ontario Agri-food Pavilion, this time in this new format, enabling 31 exhibitors from across the region to virtually reach local, regional and global audiences. The new platform launched by organizers allowed visitors to learn more about and interact with exhibitors online in time each day.

The Royal will be keeping the digital platform live all year to provide participants with a lasting online presence, and is now planning an additional five-day experience in the spring of 2021.

Upcoming Events

Virtual Spotlight on Northern Ontario Mining

Mining-related companies and organizations from across the region will once again be feature attractions at the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) Convention from March 8-11, 2021. This year, the world’s premier mineral exploration and mining convention will be going virtual, so FedNor is helping exhibitors at the Northern Ontario Mining Showcase promote their innovative services and products online.

Through the years, participating companies from across the region have seen their sales increase, new markets open up, and have established domestic and international partnerships that are creating good jobs in Northern Ontario.

Don’t miss this year’s virtual PDAC Convention!

Investment Highlights

In the last year, FedNor invested more than $122 million in 294 strategic initiatives led by local businesses, organizations and communities, helping to support more than 7,300 jobs in Northern Ontario. These investments have supported key priorities including innovation, business growth, agriculture, clean tech, youth, as well as significant relief and recovery funding for businesses as they deal with the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.

For a full listing of recent FedNor investments, visit our news release section.

Some key investments recently made by FedNor:

North America’s first cobalt sulfate refinery

Innovation, Clean-tech, Mining, Export Development
Photo FedNor funding of $5 million is putting Northern Ontario on the map by helping to establish North America’s first cobalt refinery, an important milestone that will see 100 jobs created in the Temiskaming Shores region. First Cobalt Corporation will use the investment to expand its hydrometallurgical refinery to produce five percent of the world’s supply of battery-grade cobalt sulfate, a required element needed to produce long-range electric vehicles (EVs).

Strengthening Indigenous communities

Community Development, Technology, Infrastructure, Youth
In August 2020, FedNor announced $13 million in funding for 22 initiatives led by Indigenous communities, businesses and organizations in Northern Ontario. This targeted investment included nearly $5 million for the Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund to enhance business development and growth, including youth entrepreneurship, within NADF's vast service area. Another $1 million went to the Seven Generations Education Institute for equipment for its technology centre, trades lab and virtual classroom. Other initiatives included hiring economic development staff, the development of community infrastructure, and the implementation of technology solutions to conduct asset mapping. Backgrounder

Pipe manufacturer strengthening operations

Manufacturing, Automation, Competitiveness, Energy
Photo A $5-million investment in Tenaris is helping the company upgrade its Algoma Tubes mill in Sault Ste. Marie with new equipment and technology, leading to the creation of 50 jobs during the construction phase and 75 new full-time jobs by the end of 2021. Algoma Tubes is Canada’s only seamless steel pipe manufacturer that uses advanced manufacturing technologies to produce differentiated pipe products for Canada’s energy sector. This investment will help the company produce more competitive and innovative products while increasing automation and productivity.

Creating jobs through clean technology

Manufacturing, Clean-tech, Job Creation
With a $1.5-million repayable investment, Norgalv Limited is opening one of the most advanced galvanizing plants in Canada, creating 45 high-quality jobs in the North Bay region. The new facility will incorporate high environmental standards, as well as the latest automation and software optimization systems to cater to Northern Ontario fabricators in the mining and services industry.

Success Stories

Connecting Northern Ontario Businesses

Photo

Over the years, Northern Ontario’s ICT networks have helped thousands of businesses across the region expand their markets and grow their businesses. Supported by FedNor, their efforts have boosted economic development, created jobs, increased access to education and healthcare, and so much more.

New Research Lab Making Workplace Safer

Photo

A unique and innovative workplace simulator operated by Laurentian University’s Centre for Research in Occupational Safety and Health (CROSH) is helping industry improve working conditions, and reduce downtime and workplace injuries. Through its research, this FedNor-funded initiative is also helping Northern Ontario organizations and companies use their findings to accelerate the commercialization of innovative products designed to mitigate problems in the workplace.  Read more

“Meating” demand in Northwestern Ontario

A FedNor-funded upgrade to the abattoir operated by the Cloverbelt Country Meats Cooperative has helped the group substantially increase its output in 2020, strengthening regional food security and production. With the purchase of new equipment for processing, value-added production, storage and packaging, the not-for-profit facility just west of Dryden is seeing a surge of new business from local farmers, First Nations, communities, hunters and tourist outfitters alike to process their beef, bison, pork, poultry, lamb and elk, as well as moose and deer when in season. Read more

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Nouvelles de FedNor

Votre partenaire dans le Nord de l’Ontario

En tant qu’organisme de développement économique du gouvernement du Canada pour le Nord de l’Ontario, FedNor investit dans des initiatives stratégiques dirigées par des entreprises, des collectivités et des organisations, et travaille avec divers intervenants pour créer de bons emplois et un avenir plus prospère et plus novateur dans le Nord de l’Ontario.

Dans le présent bulletin, vous verrez quelles ont été nos activités récemment et apprendrez comment les investissements de FedNor soutiennent les projets qui ont une véritable incidence dans la vie des résidents du Nord de l’Ontario.

Visitez notre page d’accueil pour voir comment FedNor peut soutenir votre projet!

Mise à jour – Janvier 2021

Quoi de neuf?

Nouveau financement pour le programme d’aide lié à la COVID-19

Dans le but de répondre à la demande exceptionnelle, un montant supplémentaire de 22,3 millions de dollars a été annoncé cet automne pour FedNor dans le cadre du Fonds d’aide et de relance régionale (FARR). À la suite d’un investissement initial de 49,5 millions de dollars en mai 2020, le financement total du FARR pour le Nord de l’Ontario s’élève maintenant à 71,8 millions de dollars.

Le FARR est un fonds d’aide spécial créé par le gouvernement du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les organisations qui éprouvent des difficultés économiques en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, notamment le secteur du tourisme qui a été durement touché.

Administré par FedNor dans le Nord de l’Ontario, en collaboration avec les Sociétés d’aide au développement des collectivités, le fonds a été une bouée de sauvetage pour plus de 700 entreprises et organisations, veillant à ce que les bénéficiaires soient prêts à jouer un rôle important dans notre relance économique après la pandémie.

Il est encore possible d’obtenir un financement, alors faites une demande dès maintenant!

Programme pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires

Le 23 novembre 2020, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé l’ouverture de la période de soumission des demandes pour le Fonds pour l’écosystème national et le Carrefour du savoir du Programme pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires.

Grâce à ces deux initiatives, le gouvernement du Canada investira dans des organisations dirigées par des membres des communautés noires pour les aider à développer ou à élargir des services, comme le mentorat, le réseautage, la planification financière et la formation en affaires pour les entrepreneurs des communautés noires. De plus, un soutien sera offert pour aider des organisations commerciales sans but lucratif dirigées par des membres des communautés noires et des établissements d’enseignement à repérer les disparités majeures et les obstacles à la réussite, ainsi que les occasions de croissance pour les entrepreneurs des communautés noires du Canada.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur le troisième pilier du Programme pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires, le Fonds de prêts pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires, seront rendus publics sous peu. Restez à l’affut!

Événements récents

Des producteurs agroalimentaires brillent à la Foire royale

Cet automne, les entreprises agroalimentaires et équines du Nord de l’Ontario ont été de nouveau les vedettes de la Foire royale d’hiver de l’agriculture, mais cette fois dans le cadre de la toute première expérience virtuelle qui s’est déroulée sur une période de cinq jours, soit du 10 au 14 novembre 2020. C’est avec plaisir que FedNor a continué de soutenir le pavillon agroalimentaire du Nord de l’Ontario, cette fois‑ci dans un nouveau format, permettant à 31 exposants de toute la région de présenter leurs produits et services à un public local, régional et mondial. La nouvelle plateforme lancée par les organisateurs a permis aux visiteurs d’en apprendre davantage sur les exposants et d’interagir avec eux en ligne chaque jour.

La Foire royale maintiendra sa plateforme numérique en ligne toute l’année pour offrir aux participants une présence en ligne durable, et prévoit maintenant une expérience supplémentaire de cinq jours au printemps 2021.

Événements récents

Une vitrine virtuelle pour l’exploitation minière du Nord de l’Ontario

Des entreprises et des organisations minières de toute la région seront à nouveau les centres d’attraction lors du congrès de l’Association canadienne des prospecteurs et entrepreneurs (ACPE) du 8 au 11 mars 2021. Cette année, le premier congrès mondial sur l’exploration et l’exploitation minières sera virtuel. FedNor aide donc les exposants du Salon minier du Nord de l’Ontario à faire la promotion en ligne de leurs produits et services novateurs.

Au fil des ans, les entreprises participantes de toute la région ont constaté une hausse de leurs ventes et une ouverture de nouveaux marchés, en plus d’établir des partenariats nationaux et internationaux qui créent de bons emplois dans le Nord de l’Ontario.

Ne manquez pas le congrès virtuel de l’ACPE de cette année!

Points saillants des investissements

L’an dernier, FedNor a investi plus de 122 millions de dollars dans 294 initiatives stratégiques dirigées par des entreprises, des organisations et des collectivités locales, contribuant ainsi à soutenir plus de 7 300 emplois dans le Nord de l’Ontario. Ces investissements ont appuyé des priorités clés, notamment l’innovation, la croissance des entreprises, l’agriculture, les technologies propres et la jeunesse, ainsi que d’importants fonds d’aide et de relance pour les entreprises qui font face aux répercussions de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Pour obtenir une liste complète des investissements récents de FedNor, visitez la section Communiqués.

Voici quelques-uns des principaux investissements effectués récemment par FedNor :

Première raffinerie de sulfate de cobalt en Amérique du Nord

Innovation, technologies propres, exploitation minière, développement des exportations
Photo Un financement de 5 millions de dollars de FedNor contribue à faire connaître le Nord de l’Ontario en facilitant la mise sur pied de la première raffinerie de cobalt en Amérique du Nord, une étape importante qui permettra de créer 100 emplois dans la région de Temiskaming Shores. First Cobalt Corporation utilisera cet investissement pour agrandir sa raffinerie hydrométallurgique dans le but de produire 5 % de l’approvisionnement mondial en sulfate de cobalt de qualité batterie, un élément nécessaire à la production de véhicules électriques (VE) à longue autonomie.

Renforcer les collectivités autochtones

Développement communautaire, technologies, infrastructure, jeunesse
En août 2020, FedNor a annoncé un financement de 13 millions de dollars pour 22 initiatives dirigées par des collectivités, des entreprises et des organisations autochtones dans le Nord de l’Ontario. Cet investissement comprenait près de 5 millions de dollars pour le Fonds de développement Nishnawbe Aski afin d’améliorer le développement et la croissance des entreprises, y compris l’entrepreneuriat chez les jeunes, dans les Premières Nations du vaste domaine de services de l’organisation. Une autre somme de 1 million de dollars a été accordée au Seven Generations Education Institute pour l’achat d’équipement pour son centre technologique, son laboratoire des métiers et sa salle de classe virtuelle. D’autres initiatives concernaient l’embauche de personnel dans le domaine du développement économique, l’élaboration d’une infrastructure communautaire et la mise en œuvre de solutions technologiques pour effectuer une cartographie des actifs. Document d’information

Soutenir les opérations d’un fabricant de tuyaux

Fabrication, automatisation, compétitivité, énergi
PhotoUn investissement de cinq millions de dollars dans Tenaris permettra à l’entreprise de moderniser son usine Algoma Tubes de Sault Ste. Marie avec de nouveaux équipements et de nouvelles technologies, ce qui entraînera la création de 50 emplois pendant la phase de construction, et de 75 nouveaux emplois à temps plein d’ici la fin de 2021. Algoma Tubes est le seul fabricant canadien de tuyaux en acier sans soudure qui tire parti des technologies de fabrication de pointe pour produire des tuyaux différenciés destinés au secteur pétrolier et gazier du Canada. Cet investissement permettra à l’entreprise de fabriquer des produits plus concurrentiels et plus novateurs, tout en améliorant l’automatisation et la productivité.

Créer des emplois grâce à des technologies propres

Fabrication, technologies propres, création d’emplois
Grâce à un investissement remboursable de 1,5 million de dollars, Norgalv Limited ouvre l’une des usines de galvanisation les plus avancées du Canada, créant ainsi 45 emplois de qualité dans la région de North Bay. Cette nouvelle installation respectera des normes environnementales rigoureuses et comprendra les tout derniers systèmes d’automatisation et d’optimisation logicielles pour répondre aux besoins des fabricants du Nord de l’Ontario dans le secteur des mines et des services.

Exemples de réussite

Connecter les entreprises du Nord de l’Ontario

Photo

Au fil des ans, les réseaux des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) du Nord de l’Ontario ont aidé des milliers d’entreprises de la région à élargir leurs marchés et à accroître leurs activités. Soutenus par FedNor, leurs efforts ont stimulé le développement économique, créé des emplois, amélioré l’accès à l’éducation et aux soins de santé, et plus encore.

Un nouveau laboratoire de recherche pour améliorer la sécurité au travail

Photo

Un simulateur de travail unique et novateur exploité par le Centre de recherche sur la santé et sécurité au travail (CRSST) de l’Université Laurentienne aide l’industrie à améliorer les conditions de travail et à réduire les temps d’arrêt et les accidents du travail. Cette initiative financée par FedNor aide également les organisations et les entreprises du Nord de l’Ontario à utiliser les résultats de ses recherches pour accélérer la commercialisation de produits innovants conçus pour atténuer les problèmes en milieu de travail. En savoir plus.

Pour connaître un succès « bœuf » dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario

La modernisation de l’abattoir exploité par la Cloverbelt Country Meats Cooperative, financée par FedNor, a permis au groupe d’accroître considérablement sa production en 2020, renforçant ainsi la sécurité alimentaire et la production dans la région. Grâce à l’achat de nouvelles pièces d’équipement pour la transformation, la production à valeur ajoutée, l’entreposage et l’emballage, cette installation sans but lucratif, située juste à l’ouest de Dryden, a vu son chiffre d’affaires augmenter puisque des agriculteurs locaux, des Premières Nations, des collectivités, des chasseurs et des pourvoyeurs y font transformer leur bœuf, bison, porc, volaille, agneau et wapiti, ainsi que l’orignal et le cerf en saison. En savoir plus.

Date de modification :