Language selection

Search

Tourism Relief Fund

The Tourism Relief Fund, administered by Canada’s regional development agencies and Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED), supports tourism businesses and organizations to adapt their operations to meet public health requirements while investing in products and services to facilitate their future growth. With a budget of $500 million over two years (ending March 31, 2023), including $50 million specifically dedicated to Indigenous tourism initiatives and $15 million for national initiatives, this fund will position Canada to be a destination of choice when domestic and international travel is once again safe by:

  • empowering tourism businesses to create new or enhance existing tourism experiences and products to attract more local and domestic visitors; and
  • helping the sector reposition itself to welcome international visitors by providing the best Canadian tourism experiences we have to offer the world.

Indigenous applicants

Indigenous tourism projects are important to Canada’s economic recovery efforts and a priority under the Tourism Relief Fund. Under the fund, a minimum of $50 million will specifically support Indigenous tourism initiatives. Contributions to Indigenous entities (not generating profits) will normally be non-repayable. Indigenous applicants are invited to apply through the process described below.

National Tourism Support

An envelope of $15 million, delivered by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED), will support the advancement of national tourism priorities aligned with Canada’s Federal Tourism Growth Strategy, such as destination development, seasonal and geographic dispersion, and human resources and skills development. This funding provides the opportunity to leverage the reach and expertise of national tourism organizations to support pan-Canadian or multi-regional activities addressing challenges facing the tourism sector on its path to recovery, like conferences and events, training and research, and strengthening networks.  More details will be available shortly.

Eligible applicants

Eligible applicants include tourism entities that cater mainly to visitors, such as:

  • businesses;
  • not-for-profit organizations, such as tourism associations; and
  • band councils or other Indigenous organizations and cooperatives.

To be considered eligible for this fund, applicants must meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Be a key supplier or operator in the visitor experience;
  • Be part of a defined tourism cluster or a tourism dependent community, including supporting downtown cores; or
  • Provide an anchor product or service in a tourism destination.

For more details on eligibility criteria, please consult the applicant’s guide.

Eligible activities

Tourism Relief Fund projects will focus on

  • Product development: For example, projects that enhance tourism experiences; help tourism businesses adapt to the “new normal,” to modernize their offerings; and, encourage the adoption of more environmentally sustainable and inclusive practices.
  • Destination development: For example, projects that position communities to take advantage of post-pandemic opportunities through strategic planning for medium- to long-term investments, as well as supporting destination development prospects in line with objectives set out in the Federal Tourism Growth Strategy.

Recognizing local realities, the regional development agencies (RDAs) will work to address the needs of businesses and communities on a regional basis, offering consistent support across Canada in this critical time.

For more details on the eligibility criteria, please consult the applicant’s guide.

Financial support

  • Contributions to businesses will be either:
    • non-repayable contributions up to $100,000 for up to 50 percent of eligible costs; or
    • fully repayable contributions up to $500,000 for up to 75 percent of eligible costs.
  • Not-for-profit organizations and Indigenous entities (not generating profits) will be eligible for non-repayable contributions.
    • Project contribution amounts would not exceed $500,000. The actual contribution amount will be based on the minimum amount required to carry out the project.

*NOTES:

  • A business cannot receive a combination of a non-repayable and a repayable contribution for the same project.
  • Assistance to cover operational needs will only be considered on a case-by-case basis (repayable for businesses and non-repayable for not-for-profits). Contact us to discuss with a FedNor Officer. For more details on the eligibility criteria, please consult the applicant guide.

Submitting an application

For details on eligibility and on how to apply, applicants are strongly encouraged to review the Application Guide in full and to contact a FedNor Officer prior to submitting an application.

For more information on the resources available for businesses, visit Canada’s COVID-19 Economic Response Plan page, consult the Managing your business during COVID-19 page or download the Canada Business application.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Fonds d’aide au tourisme

Le Fonds d’aide au tourisme, livré par les agences de développement régional (ADR) et Innovation, Science et Développement Économique Canada (ISDE), aide les entreprises et les organismes touristiques à adapter leurs activités pour répondre aux exigences en matière de santé publique, tout en investissant dans des produits et des services pour faciliter leur croissance future. Avec un budget de 500 millions de dollars sur deux ans (jusqu’au 31 mars 2023), dont 50 millions de dollars qui seront spécialement consacrés aux initiatives de tourisme autochtone et 15 millions de dollars qui appuieront des mesures nationales, le Fonds permettra au Canada d’être une destination de choix lorsqu’il sera à nouveau sécuritaire d’accueillir les voyageurs nationaux et internationaux :

  • en donnant aux propriétaires d’entreprises touristiques les moyens de créer des expériences et des produits touristiques nouveaux ou améliorés afin d’attirer davantage de visiteurs locaux et nationaux; et
  • en aidant le secteur à se positionner pour l’avenir afin d’accueillir les visiteurs étrangers en fournissant les meilleures expériences touristiques canadiennes que nous avons à offrir au monde.

Demandeurs autochtones

Les projets de tourisme autochtone sont importants pour les efforts de relance économique du Canada et une priorité du Fonds d’aide au tourisme. Dans le cadre du Fonds, un minimum de 50 millions de dollars est spécialement dédié à des initiatives touristiques autochtones. Les contributions aux entités autochtones (qui ne génèrent pas de profits) seront normalement non remboursables. Les demandeurs autochtones sont invités à présenter une demande dans le cadre du processus décrit ci-dessous.

Soutien de projets nationaux

Un montant de 15 millions de dollars versé par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada servira à soutenir l’avancement des priorités nationales en matière de tourisme conformément à la Stratégie fédérale pour la croissance du tourisme, telles que le développement des destinations, la dispersion saisonnière et géographique et le perfectionnement des ressources humaines et des compétences. Ce financement permet de mettre à profit la portée et l’expertise d’organismes de tourisme nationaux afin de soutenir des activités pancanadiennes ou multirégionales pour surmonter les défis qu’affronte le secteur touristique sur le chemin de la reprise, telles que les conférences, les évènements, la formation, la recherche et le renforcement des réseaux. D’autres détails seront disponibles sous peu.

Demandeurs admissibles

Les demandeurs admissibles comprennent les entités touristiques qui desservent principalement les visiteurs, notamment :

  • les entreprises;
  • les organismes sans but lucratif, comme les associations touristiques;
  • les conseils de bande ou d’autres organisations et coopératives autochtones.

Pour être admissibles à ce Fonds, les demandeurs doivent remplir au moins l’un des critères suivants :

  • être un fournisseur ou un exploitant clé de l’expérience du visiteur;
  • faire partie d’une grappe touristique définie ou d’une collectivité dépendante du tourisme, incluant les centres-villes; ou
  • offrir un produit ou un service phare dans une destination touristique.

Pour plus de détails sur les critères d’admissibilité, veuillez consulter le guide du demandeur.

Activités admissible

Les projets financés dans le cadre du Fonds d’aide au tourisme seront axés sur :

  • Le développement des produits : par exemple, les projets qui amélioreront les expériences touristiques, qui aideront les entreprises touristiques à s’adapter à la « nouvelle normalité » et à moderniser leur offre, ainsi que les projets qui aideront le secteur à adopter des pratiques plus écologiques et inclusives.
  • Le développement des destinations : par exemple, les projets qui permettront aux collectivités de tirer parti des possibilités post-pandémiques grâce à la planification stratégique d’investissements à moyen et à long terme, et qui appuieront les perspectives de développement de destinations conformément aux objectifs établis dans la Stratégie fédérale pour la croissance du tourisme.

Conscientes des réalités locales, les agences de développement régional (ADR) s’efforceront de répondre aux besoins des entreprises et des collectivités à l’échelle régionale partout au Canada, en offrant un soutien continu en cette période critique.

Pour plus de détails sur les critères d’admissibilité, veuillez consulter le guide du demandeur.

Soutien financier

  • Les contributions aux entreprises seront soit :
    • des contributions non remboursables jusqu’à 100 000 $ (taux d’aide de 50 pourcent des coûts admissibles);
    • des contributions entièrement remboursables jusqu’à concurrence de 500 000 $ (taux d’aide de 75 pourcent des coûts admissibles).

*REMARQUE : une entreprise ne peut recevoir une contribution non remboursable et une contribution remboursable pour le même projet.

  • Les organismes sans but lucratif et aux entités autochtones (qui ne génèrent pas de profits) seront éligibles aux contributions non remboursables.
    • Les contributions au projet ne dépasseraient pas 500 000 $. Le montant réel de la contribution sera basé sur le montant minimum requis pour réaliser le projet.

Présenter une demande

Pour en savoir plus de détails au sujet des critères d’admissibilité et des instructions pour faire la demande, on recommande fortement que vous lisiez le présent Guide du demandeur au complet et de communiquer avec un agent de FedNor avant de soumettre une demande.

Pour en savoir plus sur les ressources offertes aux entreprises, visitez la page du Plan d’intervention économique du Canada pour répondre à la COVID-19, consultez la page Gérer votre entreprise pendant la crise de la COVID-19 ou téléchargez l’application Entreprises Canada.

Date de modification :